<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<?xml-stylesheet href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/~d/styles/rss2full.xsl" type="text/xsl" media="screen"?><?xml-stylesheet href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/~d/styles/itemcontent.css" type="text/css" media="screen"?><rss xmlns:creativeCommons="http://backend.userland.com/creativeCommonsRssModule" xmlns:feedburner="http://rssnamespace.org/feedburner/ext/1.0" version="2.0"><channel><title>Utter Bollocks</title><link>http://www.utterbollocks.com</link><description>Everyone, and their dog, is blogging. Unfortunately I don't have a dog, so I have to do the blogging myself.

Utter Bollocks is a blog that serves no serious purpose, but there again very few blogs do serve any purpose, other than the promotion of the blogger.</description><language>en-GB</language><lastBuildDate>Sun, 20 Mar 2005 09:46:51 -0600</lastBuildDate><generator>Blogger http://www.blogger.com/</generator><creativeCommons:license>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/</creativeCommons:license><atom10:link xmlns:atom10="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" rel="self" href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/UtterBollocks" type="application/rss+xml" /><feedburner:browserFriendly>This is an XML content feed. It is intended to be viewed in a newsreader or syndicated to another site.</feedburner:browserFriendly><item><title>Here's another dodgy one - harming me?</title><link>http://www.utterbollocks.com/2005/03/heres-another-dodgy-one-harming-me.html</link><dc:creator xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/">Utter Bollocks</dc:creator><pubDate>Sun, 20 Mar 2005 07:36:00 -0600</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">tag:blogger.com,1999:blog-10945820.post-111132696322604379</guid><description>Here is another very large directory,&lt;a href="http://www.ubbi.com.br/"&gt; Ubbi&lt;/a&gt;,  that comes up when you "allinurl" query Google.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;I take as an example a random site and query their allinurl. This is for &lt;a href="http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=allinurl%3Awww.travelforkids.com"&gt;TravelForKids.Com&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;One of the entries for their site comes up as &lt;a href="http://www.ubbi.com.br/resultados.asp?q=related:www.travelforkids.com%2FFuntodo%2FEcuador%2Fecuador.htm&amp;origen="&gt;Ubbi&lt;/a&gt; , but a different page in the &lt;a href="http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:uKTefH_ee-IJ:www.ubbi.com.br/resultados.asp%3Fq%3Drelated:www.travelforkids.com%252FFuntodo%252FEcuador%252Fecuador.htm%26origen%3D+allinurl:www.travelforkids.com&amp;amp;hl=en"&gt;Google cache for Ubbi&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;The difference in the given urls for the direct link and the cache amount to a space in the cached link between the "www" and "travelforkids.com" on Ubbis site. If you remove the space, then obviously you end up back at the original Ubbi page&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;I cannot get anything out of the headers to give me a clue as to what is happening, and the Google removal tool will not accept a URL with a space (I do not seem to get anywhere by inserting html code for a space instead of the space)&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;There must clearly be a cloaked redirect for Googlebot, but I cannot tease out what it is. The site serves up one page for the cache, another for the direct link.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;I don't think there is a 302 here, the links nowhere take one to the "target" site directly. However, I suspect that there is a harming of the ranking of any site caught up in the scam.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;So basic question "is this just a little mild cloaking or are they harming my ranking?"&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;So I tried Claus tests suggested in an earlier blog&lt;br /&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.google.com/search?num=100&amp;q=travel+for+kids"&gt;Query the site name&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.google.com/search?num=100&amp;amp;q=site:www.travelforkids.com"&gt;site:www.travelforkids.com&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;These both show these is no gain for the directory in "controlling" my position in the rankings. So again a little "harmless" cloaking that is making them money from advertisers, but appears not to be actually harming my own sites.</description></item></channel></rss>
