Select Page


Scholarship winner hails from Shippensburg University

Noah Stewart with his dad, Dr. Richard Stewart, after graduating in May 2021. Photo/Submitted

Shippensburg University student Noah Stewart is the 2021 award winner of State APSCUF’s $3,000 scholarship, selected by APSCUF’s special-services committee. Stewart is the son of Shippensburg APSCUF member Associate Professor Richard Stewart. The scholarship recipient is a graduate biology major. Click here to read more about him.

APSCUF offers a scholarship to relatives of APSCUF or APSCURF members in good standing. The 2021 application will be available in late 2021 on the Students page of the APSCUF website.

President Martin discusses consolidation, COVID on ‘Behind the Headlines’

“This is going to be a long road ahead,” APSCUF President Dr. Jamie Martin said about university consolidations during an August episode of “Behind the Headlines.” “The vote by the board in July was the first step of many. We still have a lot of unanswered questions about accreditation, questions about the NCAA decision to allow sports or athletic teams at all six campuses, questions about curriculum, and a lot of questions about exactly how this will look at the end of the day. And so this should be an iterative process. And as we get answers to some of these questions, there could be modifications to the original plan — or changes to it. So we’re carefully watching … We also have a collective bargaining agreement, and so we’ve got to work through that process and determine how that will look whenever we have a new university that’s three campuses but one president, one accreditation, those kinds of issues.”

Martin also discussed COVID-19 and the return to the fall semester.

“We had advocated for this strongly through our meet-and-discuss processes that there should be, at the very least, a mask mandate,” she said. “And so we’re happy to see that all 14 universities have done that … We would certainly support and advocate for a vaccine mandate.”

Click here to watch the complete interview with The Susquehanna Valley Center for Public Policy program.

Click here to read Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education’s statement encouraging COVID vaccination. Martin is among the union leaders who signed the message.

Click here to read about the State System and COVID-19 vaccines in The Philadelphia Inquirer.

APSCUF intern: Solidarity and humanity are keys to higher education

Kutztown University student Melissa Stough interned with APSCUF’s government-and-communications department this summer. Click here to learn more about future APSCUF internships.

I must admit that, as a new transfer student from a private university, I had no concept of faculty unions or what purposes they served beyond the faculty. However, when I noticed APSCUF’s focus on social justice, equitable education and worker solidarity, that message resonated more than any other internship posting I explored. Public relations and government relations: How could an internship get any better than that? Upon meeting Sean and Kathryn, APSCUF staff members, in the interview, I knew I needed this internship.

As an English major with a determined interest in social justice and activism, I wanted the experience of collaborating with academic professionals and policy-makers. I threw myself into learning everything about the State System redesign plans, and I recognized the importance of sharing information and making details accessible to all affected parties. APSCUF helped me recover my passion for public speaking and speech writing through the Nellie Bly press conference and the public hearings on consolidation. From transcribing videos, researching student debt and writing profiles, I feel the opportunities in this internship dwarf other experiences in my college career.

There are so many compassionate, talented individuals working at APSCUF, and I have to agree with former intern Kyle Bower when he wrote that APSCUF is a “lovable group that nurtured my (his) development.” I couldn’t agree more. Jamie, Kathryn, Sean,Ty, Bim, Chris, Mary Rita, Beth, Chabria, Katie and every single person at the State APSCUF office all truly care. Each of these State APSCUF employees contribute to the mission of APSCUF. From meeting these individuals, I learned about leadership, communication, politics, administration, retirement benefits, research, arbitration, finances, labor relations and planning. As an intern, you are granted a place in this incredible community. Yes, meeting senators and representatives is exciting; however, meeting individuals with the wealth of knowledge that APSCUF staff possess is absolutely unrivaled.

I will never forget the knowledge I gained from current APSCUF and APSCURF members, and I will promote the importance of unions, which are integral to the success of individuals and their communities. President Jamie Martin exemplified the qualities of leadership, which all organizers can only hope to demonstrate, and for that I am incredibly grateful. Kathryn and Sean expanded my view of higher education and public policy, and they encouraged me to explore so many options I never viewed as possible prior to meeting them. Their guidance elevated my professional experience to a different level, and Pixel, Kathryn’s cat and the APSCUF mascot, filled my heart with joy every time she joined a remote meeting.

Beyond the sappy goodbyes and my heartfelt thanks for their advice, I discovered a deeper message that all State System students should hear at some point in their college career. Regardless of your major, or what people may say about your desired career path, the APSCUF internship taught me to utilize the skills I have and how I can apply them to a diverse range of situations. If you do not apply to this internship, you are doing yourself a disservice.

Forever humbled by the work of everyone at APSCUF,

—Melissa Stough,
APSCUF intern

Subscribe to The Blog

for news and updates!

Twitter Buzz