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		<title>Sustainable Organizing &#8211; Productivity &#038; Organizing Blog Carnival</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/sustainable-organizing-pobc/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/sustainable-organizing-pobc/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Janet Barclay]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 16 Apr 2026 11:37:52 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Productivity & Organizing Blog Carnival (formerly Professional Organizers Blog Carnival)]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[eco friendly]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/?p=61871</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>This month&#8217;s Productivity &#38; Organizing Blog Carnival is all about Sustainable Organizing! With Earth Day right around the corner, I invited my readers to share their blog posts about creating functional, clutter-free spaces using eco-friendly, low-waste methods. I think all of us will benefit from their tips for reducing/reusing/repurposing, conscious consumption, responsible disposal, and more.&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/sustainable-organizing-pobc/">Sustainable Organizing &#8211; Productivity &#038; Organizing Blog Carnival</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This month&#8217;s Productivity &amp; Organizing Blog Carnival is all about Sustainable Organizing!</p>
<p>With Earth Day right around the corner, I invited my readers to share their blog posts about creating functional, clutter-free spaces using eco-friendly, low-waste methods.</p>
<p>I think all of us will benefit from their tips for reducing/reusing/repurposing, conscious consumption, responsible disposal, and more.</p>
<p>As you read the posts listed below, please connect with the bloggers on social media, leave comments, and share your favorite posts with your own network.</p>
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			<th id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" style="width:30%;" data-label=""><span class="gv-field-label"><a href="/feed/?sort%5B1%5D=asc" data-multisort-href="/feed/" class="gv-sort gv-icon-caret-up-down" ></a>&nbsp;</span></th><th id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" style="width:70%;" data-label=""><span class="gv-field-label"><a href="/feed/?sort%5B5%5D=asc" data-multisort-href="/feed/" class="gv-sort gv-icon-caret-up-down" ></a>&nbsp;</span></th>		</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Debbie Rosemont</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.itssimplyplaced.com/green-moving-tips-for-a-smaller-carbon-footprint/">Green Moving: Tips for a Smaller Carbon Footprint</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Diana Duran Wettling</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/organizing-for-our-environment/">Organizing For Our Environment</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Ellen Faye</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://ellenfaye.com/blog/friction-points-how-to-spot-and-solve/">Friction Points: How to Spot Them and Solve Them</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Gillian Economou</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.sort-it-out.com/blog/dc-eco-friendly-organizing-tips">Eco-Friendly Organizing: Thoughtful Choices That Support Your Home &amp; the Planet</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Haley Kieser</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://mindoverclutter.ca/3-alternative-ways-to-get-rid-of-your-clutter/">3 Alternative ways to get rid of your clutter</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Hazel Thornton</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.org4life.com/recycling-donating-selling-repurposing/">Are you taking it too far?</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Hilda Rodgers</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://fromoverwhelmedtoorganized.com/textile-recycling/">Textile Recycling</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Julie Stobbe</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://mindoverclutter.ca/repurposing-unused-items/">Re-purposing unused items to get organized</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Linda Samuels</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.ohsoorganized.com/blog/fun-letting-go-experience">One Fun and Informative Letting Go Exploration with Organizing Colleagues</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Pam Wong</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://zennorganized.com/how-to-prevent-future-clutter-from-creeping-back-in/">How To Prevent Future Clutter From Creeping Back In</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Peggy Wonder</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://spaceforyou.us/blog/swiffer-love">Swiffer Love</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Seana Turner</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://theseanamethod.com/2021/10/a-planet-friendly-way-to-declutter/">A Planet-Friendly Way to Declutter</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Sheri Steed</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.step-by-step-declutter.com/blog/how-to-be-a-responsible-respectful-declutterer">How to be a Responsible, Respectful Declutterer</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Terence Angafor</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/sustainable-organizing/">Sustainable Organizing Practices for the Environmentally Conscious Client</a></td>			</tr>
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<p>Thanks to everyone who contributed to this Blog Carnival!</p>
<blockquote><p><strong>Do you offer a product or service that would interest professional organizers, productivity consultants, or their clients?</strong></p>
<p>Why not <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/advertising/">sponsor</a> an upcoming edition of the Productivity &amp; Organizing Blog Carnival?</p></blockquote>
<p>I’m now accepting submissions for May&#8217;s <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/pobc-submission-form/">Productivity &amp; Organizing Blog Carnival</a>, when our topic will be <b>Time Wisdom</b>.</p>
<p><em><i>Photo by alenkasm / </i></em><a href="https://depositphotos.com/?ref=1562122" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer"><em><i>DepositPhotos</i></em></a></p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/sustainable-organizing-pobc/">Sustainable Organizing &#8211; Productivity &#038; Organizing Blog Carnival</a> and join the conversation.</p>
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		<title>Help! How do I find clients?</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/help-how-to-find-clients/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/help-how-to-find-clients/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Anne Blumer]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 09 Apr 2026 11:49:19 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[networking]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://instproorg.tempurl.host/?p=15539</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>When starting a professional organizing business, the question asked the most is, “How do I find clients?” The first thing to recognize is you need to seek out clients and not wait for clients to seek you out. Four months into the start-up of my organizing business, my husband, Stefan, and I were in our&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/help-how-to-find-clients/">Help! How do I find clients?</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>When starting a professional organizing business, the question asked the most is, “How do I find clients?”</p>
<p>The first thing to recognize is you need to seek out clients and not wait for clients to seek you out.</p>
<p>Four months into the start-up of my organizing business, my husband, Stefan, and I were in our office with our desks back to back, and he turned around, kicked my chair, and said, “Don’t you think it’s about time to get a client?”</p>
<p>I had not worked with a client yet. I wasn’t sure how to find clients, and our website was not on page one of the search listing, so if anyone was looking for a professional organizer, they would not find me. Remember, this was 2003, and professional organizers were not commonplace. The TV shows that have promoted our industry were just beginning.</p>
<p>I asked Stefan, “How should I go about finding clients?” He suggested I ask a few friends who had encouraged me to do this to see if they knew of anyone whose home was a bit cluttered. I pulled together a brochure of my business services and proceeded to meet with everyone I knew, asking them to help me find clients.</p>
<p>This exercise proved to be very worthwhile on two counts.</p>
<p>First, I was referred by one of my friends to her client, and I had my first organizing job. Second, I made connections with people who have businesses with clients who need my services, and eventually, my clients might need their services. For example, one friend is a financial advisor, and her clients needed help assembling paper information the financial advisor required to advise them. My clients often ask me if I know of a financial advisor because they need to get their finances in order or start investing for their retirement. It’s a win-win relationship and what is known as a strategic alliance.</p>
<h2>Developing Your Network of Strategic Alliances</h2>
<p>If you haven’t already formed a group of strategic alliances, think of who they could be.</p>
<p>Strategic alliances are individuals or businesses that share similar clients with you.</p>
<p>Network <em>every</em> day.  Talk to <strong>everyone</strong> about your business. Who do you know that can help you promote your business? Who can you partner with and strategically align yourself with to provide mutual marketing opportunities?</p>
<p>Strategic alliance might be:</p>
<ul>
<li>realtors</li>
<li>interior designers</li>
<li><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/organizing-teachers/">schools</a></li>
<li>doctors</li>
<li>lawyers</li>
<li>certified public accountants</li>
<li>senior living residences (Marketing Director)</li>
<li>financial investment representatives</li>
<li>feng shui consultants</li>
<li>wardrobe consultants</li>
<li>cleaning services</li>
</ul>
<p>Invite them to meet with you, explain your services, and then ask them, <em>“How can I be of service to you?”</em> and watch the flood of referrals come your way. And you will be more valuable to your clients because you have resources for them.</p>
<p>Another way to meet strategic partners is to join <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/local-networking-activities/">networking organizations</a>. <a href="https://www.bni.com/">Business Networking International</a> is a networking organization I belonged to in the early years of my business. They have over 200,000 members. I met many business owners; we exchanged referrals and grew my list of trusted resources. The networking groups I&#8217;ve belonged to include <a href="https://www.thewomenscollectivepnw.com/">Women To Women Network</a>, Women In Networking, and Chamber of Commerce. Also, look for <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/facebook-groups-business/">networking groups on Facebook</a>.</p>
<blockquote><p><strong>Are you looking for referral partners?</strong></p>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/pops/">Join POPS Circle</a> to connect with colleagues with different services or target demographics than your own &#8211; or to talk about other marketing strategies that have worked (or not worked)!</p></blockquote>
<h2>Other ways to find clients</h2>
<h3>Website:</h3>
<p>You can <a href="https://janetbarclay.com/building-your-own-website/">develop your own website</a> at <a href="https://www.godaddy.com/">GoDaddy</a>, <a href="https://www.vistaprint.com/">VistaPrint</a>, <a href="https://www.weebly.com/">Weebly</a>, <a href="https://www.squarespace.com/">Squarespace</a>, or <a href="http://eepurl.com/wbH9b">Mailchimp</a>.</p>
<h3>Social media:</h3>
<p>Set up accounts and post regularly on <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/instagram-website-traffic/">Instagram</a>, <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/streamline-facebook-activities/">Facebook</a>, <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/the-power-of-pinterest/">Pinterest</a>, <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/book-review-how-to-twitter/">Twitter</a>, <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/linkedin-business/">LinkedIn</a>, <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/organizing-business-tiktok/">TikTok</a>, and <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/houzz/">Houzz</a>.  To start, pick one or two social media platforms best suited to your key client.</p>
<h3>Newsletter:</h3>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/newsletter-content/">Write and send a newsletter</a> to your contact list regularly, using a service like <a href="http://eepurl.com/wbH9b">Mailchimp</a>, <a href="https://partners.kit.com/psndid5np3dh">Kit</a>, or <a href="https://www.constantcontact.com/">Constant Contact</a>. Be consistent, concise, and confident.</p>
<h3>Public speaking:</h3>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/grow-your-business-speaking/">Speak</a> on time management, paper management, decluttering, and downsizing. Speak at your chamber of commerce, networking groups, moms groups, and parent-teacher associations.</p>
<h3>Removable car sign:</h3>
<p>I suggest a <a href="https://www.fastsigns.com/">removable car sign</a> for when you don’t want to be advertising your business, such as when you are at a client location – to protect their privacy.</p>
<h3>Silent auctions:</h3>
<p>Auction a basket or bin of organizing products along with a gift certificate for your services. Include your business card and other promotional materials, and have extras for the table for everyone to take.</p>
<p><strong>What are other methods you practice to gain new clients? Post in the comments below.</strong></p>
<p><em><i>Photo by snowing / <a href="https://depositphotos.com/?ref=1562122">Depositphotos</a></i></em></p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/help-how-to-find-clients/">Help! How do I find clients?</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
					
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		<title>Interview with Aaron Traub, Founder of The Organizer Directory</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/aaron-traub-interview/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/aaron-traub-interview/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Janet Barclay]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 07 Apr 2026 11:23:18 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Organizer Interviews]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mid career]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/?p=62440</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>This week’s interview is with Aaron Traub, who wears many hats in the organizing industry. Hi, Aaron, and welcome! Please tell us a bit about your businesses. I work with professional organizers and clients all across the United States through The Organizer Directory. The platform includes both local, in-person organizers and virtual professionals who serve&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/aaron-traub-interview/">Interview with Aaron Traub, Founder of The Organizer Directory</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This week’s interview is with Aaron Traub, who wears many hats in the organizing industry.</p>
<p><strong><b>Hi, Aaron, and welcome! Please tell us a bit about your businesses.</b></strong></p>
<p>I work with professional organizers and clients all across the United States through <a href="https://theorganizerdirectory.com/"><u>The Organizer Directory</u></a>. The platform includes both local, in-person organizers and virtual professionals who serve clients remotely nationwide. I also run a <a href="https://professionalorganizerneworleans.com/"><u>home organizing company in New Orleans</u></a> and build websites and handle <a href="https://geauxseo.com/"><u>SEO for organizers and other local businesses</u></a> throughout the country.</p>
<p><strong><b>How did your training and experience </b></strong><strong><b>lead </b></strong><strong><b>you to </b></strong><strong><b>create The Organizer Directory</b></strong><strong><b>?</b></strong></p>
<p>I actually own a home organizing company in New Orleans, so I’ve been in the field myself and understand how the industry works from the inside. Over time, I also built experience in website design and SEO, especially for local service businesses. That combination, organizing and online marketing, naturally led me to create the directory to help other organizers get more visibility.</p>
<p><strong><b>What </b></strong><strong><b>inspired you to create The Organizer Directory</b></strong><strong><b>?</b></strong></p>
<p>I created The Organizer Directory after working closely with professional organizers and seeing how difficult it was for many of them to get consistent visibility online. As someone who understands both the organizing industry and SEO, I built the directory to help organizers get discovered in their local markets while giving clients a trusted place to find qualified professionals in their area.</p>
<p><strong><b>How do you support</b></strong><strong><b> other</b></strong><strong><b> professional</b></strong><strong><b> organizers?</b></strong></p>
<p>I offer free business listings for professional organizers, along with featured placement opportunities for those who want increased visibility. The platform allows organizers to be discovered by specialty and location and serves as an additional marketing channel to help generate qualified leads and strengthen online presence.</p>
<p>In addition to the directory, I build and design custom websites for professional organizers and provide SEO services specifically tailored to help them rank locally, attract more inquiries, and grow their businesses strategically.</p>
<p><strong><b>How are you </b></strong><strong><b>currently </b></strong><strong><b>marketing </b></strong><strong><b>The Organizer Directory</b></strong><strong><b>?</b></strong></p>
<p>I focus heavily on SEO and organic visibility. I also stay active in professional organizer Facebook groups, local networking circles, and Chambers of Commerce. Because I work closely with organizers through website design and SEO, much of the growth also comes from referrals and relationships within the industry.</p>
<p><strong><b>How do you approach a new organizing project?</b></strong></p>
<p>My partner Olivia and I own a home organizing company together in New Orleans, and we have a great team that handles most of our projects. Occasionally, my help is needed on a project, and when I step in, I start by listening. I want to understand how the client uses the space, what’s not working, and what would make the biggest difference in their daily routine. From there, we focus on decluttering first and then building simple systems that are practical and easy to maintain.</p>
<p><strong><b>What&#8217;s the most surprising thing you&#8217;ve discovered about running an organizing business?</b></strong></p>
<p>Honestly, how much of running an organizing business has nothing to do with organizing. A big part of it is <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/effective-communication-skills/"><u>communication</u></a>, <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/managing-client-expectations/"><u>managing expectations</u></a>, <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/finding-your-dream-employee/"><u>hiring the right people</u></a>, and making sure <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/what-is-sop-and-do-i-need-it/"><u>systems</u></a> are in place behind the scenes. The organization is important, but the business side is what really determines <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/10-tips-successful-organizing-business/"><u>long-term success</u></a>.</p>
<p><strong><b>What is your </b></strong><strong><b>biggest challenge as you grow these </b></strong><strong><b>business</b></strong><strong><b>es</b></strong><strong><b>?</b></strong></p>
<p>Probably just making sure we don’t grow faster than we can handle. As things expand, the organizing company, the directory, website, and clients, I want to make sure the quality stays high, and clients still feel taken care of.</p>
<p><strong><b>What professional associations or other organizations do you belong to?</b></strong></p>
<p>I’m actively involved in the professional organizing community through local and national Facebook groups for organizers, where I stay connected to industry conversations and trends. I’m also a member of my local Chambers of Commerce and business networking groups, which helps me stay engaged with small business owners and better understand the needs of organizers growing their companies.</p>
<p><strong><b>How did you come up with your business name?</b></strong></p>
<p>I wanted something straightforward and clear. The Organizer Directory says exactly what it is, a place where people can find professional organizers. I didn’t want a trendy or complicated name. I wanted something simple, easy to remember, and easy to search.</p>
<p><strong><b>What&#8217;s your favorite organizing product? Why?</b></strong></p>
<p><a href="https://amzn.to/3NWWJU3"><u>Standard shelving</u></a>. We actually build and install it through our organizing company, and it can be used almost anywhere, such as garages, attics, offices, craft rooms, storage rooms, you name it. It’s simple, sturdy, and instantly creates usable space. I like solutions that are practical and flexible rather than overly complicated.</p>
<p><strong><b>What do you like to do when you&#8217;re not working?</b></strong></p>
<p>To be honest, I’m usually working. <img src="https://s.w.org/images/core/emoji/17.0.2/72x72/1f642.png" alt="🙂" class="wp-smiley" style="height: 1em; max-height: 1em;" /> But when I’m not, I love traveling. I enjoy experiencing new cities, different cultures, and seeing how other people live and build businesses. It gives me a reset and also sparks new ideas. I’m also big on personal growth, entrepreneurship, and anything that helps me think bigger and operate better.</p>
<p><strong><b>What else should we know about you?</b></strong></p>
<p>I care a lot about helping organizers grow sustainable businesses. Owning an organizing company myself has given me firsthand experience, and building websites and doing SEO for organizers has shown me how important visibility is. The directory was created to bring those two worlds together in a practical way.</p>
<blockquote><p><b>Want to be featured in an upcoming Organizer Interview on Your Organizing Business?</b></p>
<p>It’s a great opportunity to showcase your business, share what you’ve learned, and help others in the organizing community.</p>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/organizer-interview-questionnaire/">Fill out the questionnaire to be considered</a>!</p></blockquote>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/aaron-traub-interview/">Interview with Aaron Traub, Founder of The Organizer Directory</a> and join the conversation.</p>
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		<title>From Solo Organizer to Team: What Actually Changes in Your Business</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/from-solo-to-team/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/from-solo-to-team/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Olivia Parks]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 02 Apr 2026 10:59:59 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Business Practices]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[building a team]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/?p=62050</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>When you’re working as a solo organizer, everything runs through you. You’re on every project, talking to every client, doing the work, and making sure everything gets done the way you want it. For a while, it works. But eventually, you hit a point where you can’t take on anything else and start to feel&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/from-solo-to-team/">From Solo Organizer to Team: What Actually Changes in Your Business</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>When you’re working as a solo organizer, everything runs through you. You’re on every project, talking to every client, doing the work, and making sure everything gets done the way you want it. For a while, it works. But eventually, you hit a point where you can’t take on anything else and start to feel burnt out.</p>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/organizing-team/">Bringing on a team</a> feels like the obvious next step. And it is, but what many organizers don’t realize is how much your role actually changes once you’re not the one doing everything anymore.</p>
<p>At first, it seems like growth just means more projects. But in reality, your time starts shifting pretty quickly. Instead of being on every job, you’re spending more time scheduling, texting clients, coordinating your team, and making sure everything is running the way it should.</p>
<p>You’re not just focused on doing the work anymore, you’re focused on making sure the work is getting done right across the board. That’s a different kind of responsibility, and it takes some getting used to. You start paying more attention to how projects are set up, how instructions are given, and how consistent everything feels from one job to the next.</p>
<p>This is where <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/what-is-sop-and-do-i-need-it/">systems</a> really start to matter. When you’re solo, you can keep a lot in your head. Once you have a team, that doesn’t work anymore. You need clear ways of doing things, how projects are scheduled, how clients are communicated with, and what the <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/managing-client-expectations/">expectations</a> are for each job. Without that, things can feel all over the place pretty quickly.</p>
<p>Communication also becomes a bigger part of your day than you might expect. You’re going back and forth with clients, answering questions, checking in with your team, and making sure everyone’s on the same page. Small things can turn into bigger issues if they’re not handled early, so staying on top of it matters.</p>
<p>One of the harder parts is letting go of control. When you’re used to doing everything yourself, it’s tough to step back and trust someone else to handle a project. But that’s part of growing. It’s less about doing everything yourself and more about setting things up so the job still gets done right, even when you’re not there.</p>
<p>Over time, your role starts to shift. You’re not just organizing anymore, you’re building something that can run without you being at every single job. That’s what allows you to take on more clients and create something more consistent long term.</p>
<p>Making the jump from solo to a team isn’t always smooth, and it doesn’t happen overnight. But once things start to click, it opens up a completely different level of growth.</p>
<p>The biggest shift is this, you’re no longer doing everything yourself, and at first that can feel uncomfortable. But over time, it’s what allows the business to actually grow.</p>
<blockquote><p><b>Want to talk to colleagues about growing a team &#8211; or anything else?</b></p>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/pops/"><span style="font-weight: 400;">Join the POPS Circle</span></a><span style="font-weight: 400;">, where organizing and productivity professionals share ideas, experiences, and encouragement.</span></p></blockquote>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/from-solo-to-team/">From Solo Organizer to Team: What Actually Changes in Your Business</a> and join the conversation.</p>
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		<title>Focusing on the Right Metrics to Grow Your Solopreneur Business</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/solopreneur-business-metrics/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/solopreneur-business-metrics/#respond</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Chris Bretschger]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 31 Mar 2026 11:21:37 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[tracking tools]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/?p=62069</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>As a solopreneur, you don’t have the luxury of a marketing department, sales team, and data analyst in separate offices. You have to be the strategist, the executor, and the decision-maker. That makes your time – and your money – valuable. Running marketing campaigns, testing new offers, and refining your sales process are all essential&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/solopreneur-business-metrics/">Focusing on the Right Metrics to Grow Your Solopreneur Business</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>As a solopreneur, you don’t have the luxury of a marketing department, sales team, and data analyst in separate offices. You have to be the strategist, the executor, and the decision-maker. That makes your time – and your money – valuable.</p>
<p>Running marketing campaigns, testing new offers, and refining your sales process are all essential to your business growth, but activity alone doesn’t mean progress. Posting more on social media, launching another ad campaign, or sending more emails won’t automatically generate more revenue.</p>
<p>If you want sustainable, profitable growth as a one-person business, you need visibility with the right metrics. When you consistently measure key performance indicators (KPIs), you stop relying on gut feelings and start making decisions based on evidence. You can see what’s working, what’s<a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/cost-effective-marketing-plan/"> </a><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/cost-effective-marketing-plan/"><u>draining your budget</u></a>, and where you should devote your resources.</p>
<h2>Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)</h2>
<p>Customer lifetime value (CLV) measures how much revenue you can expect from a customer over the entire relationship with you. For solopreneurs, this metrics is extremely powerful because it relies on:</p>
<ul>
<li><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/recurring-revenue/">Retainer clients</a></li>
<li>Repeat service packages</li>
<li>Subscription-based offerings</li>
<li>Ongoing consulting relationships</li>
</ul>
<p>If one client pays you $2,000 once, that’s helpful. But if another pays you $1,000 per month for 12 months, that client is worth $12,000 and potentially more if they renew.</p>
<p>Understanding your CLV helps you:</p>
<ul>
<li>Identify your most valuable client type</li>
<li>Justify investing more to acquire similar clients</li>
<li>Decide how much support, onboarding, or bonus value to provide</li>
<li>Forecast revenue more accurately</li>
</ul>
<p>You can intentionally design offers that increase long-term value instead of chasing one-off projects. For extra insights, segment your clients and compare one-time buyers to repeat or retainer clients to see which group deserves more of your focus.</p>
<h2>Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)</h2>
<p>Customer acquisition cost (CAC) tells you how much you spend to gain one paying customer. For you, that may mean:</p>
<ul>
<li><a href="https://us.bastionagency.com/automotive-ppc-agency/"><u>Paid ads</u></a></li>
<li>Email software</li>
<li><a href="https://janetbarclay.com/website-hosting/">Website hosting</a></li>
<li><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/crm-onboard-clients/">CRM tools</a></li>
<li><a href="https://janetbarclay.com/snappa/">Design subscriptions</a></li>
<li>Your own time</li>
</ul>
<p>Many solopreneurs underestimate CAC because they don’t factor in their time. If you spend 10 hours networking, creating content, and nurturing leads before closing one $1,000 client, that time has value.</p>
<p>To calculate CAC:</p>
<ol>
<li>Add up your total marketing and sales expenses over a period.</li>
<li>Divide by the number of new customers acquired during that same period.</li>
</ol>
<p>Tracking CAC helps you identify which channels are too expensive and compare paid vs. organic strategies. You can avoid scaling unprofitable campaigns and understand how long it takes to recover acquisition costs.</p>
<p>When you combine CAC and CLV, you gain deep insights. For example, if it costs $500 to acquire a client worth $5,000, that’s strong. If it costs $500 to acquire a client worth $700, your margins are tight.</p>
<h2>Conversion Rates</h2>
<p>A conversion happens whenever a prospect takes a desired action, such as:</p>
<ul>
<li>Booking a discovery call</li>
<li>Joining your email list</li>
<li>Purchasing a product</li>
<li>Downloading a lead magnet</li>
<li>Clicking a checkout button</li>
</ul>
<p>Conversion rate tells you what percentage of visitors actually complete that action. For example, 1,000 website visitors and 50 email signups is a 5% conversion rate.</p>
<p>As a solopreneur, conversion rate optimization can be more powerful than increasing traffic. Improving your conversion rate from 2% to 4% effectively doubles your results without increasing your ad spend.</p>
<p>Track conversion rates across:</p>
<ul>
<li>Landing pages</li>
<li>Sales pages</li>
<li>Email campaigns</li>
<li>Paid ads</li>
<li>Social traffic</li>
</ul>
<p>If traffic is high but conversions are low, your messaging, offer clarity, or user experience may need refinement. Focus on one funnel at a time, because small improvements compound quickly.</p>
<h2>Return on Ad Spend (ROAS)</h2>
<p>If you run paid advertising, return on ad spend (ROAS) is important. It measures how much revenue you generate for every dollar you spend on ads.</p>
<p>The formula is:</p>
<p>Revenue from Ads + Ad Spend = ROAS</p>
<p>If you spend $1,000 on ads and generate $4,000 in revenue, your ROAS is 4:1. If you’re working with a limited budget, this metric protects you from emotional spending and helps to:</p>
<ul>
<li>Identify which campaigns are profitable</li>
<li>Pause underperforming ads quickly</li>
<li>Double down on high-performing creatives or audiences</li>
<li>Avoid vanity traffic that doesn’t actually convert</li>
</ul>
<p>Track ROAS at the campaign level and possibly at the keyword or audience level.</p>
<h2>Cost Per Lead (CPL)</h2>
<p>Cost per lead (CPL) measures how much it costs to generate a potential customer, not necessarily a paying one.</p>
<p>For example, you may spend $500 on ads and generate 100 leads for a CPL of $5 per lead. CPL is different from CAC because not all leads convert. As a solopreneur, you don’t need thousands of low-quality leads, you need qualified prospects.</p>
<p>Track CPL by:</p>
<ul>
<li>Platform, such as Google, Facebook,<a href="http://us.bastionagency.com/instagram-marketing-agency/"><u>Instagram</u></a>, and LinkedIn</li>
<li>Lead magnet type</li>
<li>Audience segment</li>
</ul>
<p>If one channel generates $3 in leads but none convert, and another generates $15 in leads that convert consistently, the higher CPL may actually be more valuable. Quality always outperforms quantity.</p>
<h2>Customer Retention Rate (CRR)</h2>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/recurring-revenue/"><u>Retention</u></a> is often the difference between stability and constant hustle for solopreneurs. Customer retention rate (CRR) tells you the percentage of clients who continue working with you over time. Churn rate measures how many leave.</p>
<p>Retention makes a big difference because:</p>
<ul>
<li>It’s cheaper to retain than acquire</li>
<li>Referrals often come from satisfied clients</li>
<li>Stable revenue reduces stress</li>
<li>Predictable income improves planning</li>
</ul>
<p>If the churn is high, ask:</p>
<ul>
<li>Are expectations misaligned?</li>
<li>Is onboarding strong enough?</li>
<li>Are results clearly communicated?</li>
<li>Are you regularly checking in?</li>
</ul>
<p>Just a few small improvements in retention can dramatically increase lifetime value.</p>
<h2>Purchase Frequency</h2>
<p>Understanding how often customers return allows you to time your outreach strategically. For solopreneurs selling<a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/start-professional-organizing-business/"> </a><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/start-professional-organizing-business/"><u>design services</u></a>, consulting hours, subscription products, coaching packages, or maintenance services, knowing the average repurchase cycle allows you to:</p>
<ul>
<li>Schedule reminder emails</li>
<li>Offer renewal incentives</li>
<li>Launch upgrades at the right time</li>
<li>Reduce revenue gaps</li>
</ul>
<p>Instead of random promotions, your marketing becomes intentional and well-timed to improve revenue while also making the experience more professional and personalized.</p>
<h2>Profit Margins</h2>
<p>Revenue is exciting, but profit is sustainable. Track:</p>
<ul>
<li>Gross profit margin (revenue minus direct costs)</li>
<li>Net profit margin (what you actually keep)</li>
</ul>
<p>A $10,000 month means little if your expenses are $8,500. Monitoring profit ensures you’re pricing appropriately, eliminating unnecessary tools, avoiding high discounts, and designing offers with healthy margins.</p>
<h2>Build Smart Growth with Strategic Measurement</h2>
<p>As a solopreneur, you don’t have unlimited time or budget, so clarity can be your greatest competitive advantage. Tracking the right metrics transforms your business from a bunch of experiments into a focused, strategic operation with long-lasting client relationships.</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/solopreneur-business-metrics/">Focusing on the Right Metrics to Grow Your Solopreneur Business</a> and join the conversation.</p>
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		<title>Smart Paid Advertising Strategies for Small Businesses Facing Rapid Growth</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/paid-advertising-strategies/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/paid-advertising-strategies/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Julie Morris]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 24 Mar 2026 11:26:17 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[advertising]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/?p=61864</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>If you&#8217;re a professional organizer or productivity consultant running your business on your own, growth can sneak up on you fast. One month you&#8217;re chasing clients, the next you&#8217;re turning them away. Somewhere in the middle of that, someone mentions paid ads, and suddenly you&#8217;re wondering if spending money on advertising is the move that&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/paid-advertising-strategies/">Smart Paid Advertising Strategies for Small Businesses Facing Rapid Growth</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>If you&#8217;re a professional organizer or productivity consultant running your business on your own, growth can sneak up on you fast. One month you&#8217;re chasing clients, the next you&#8217;re turning them away. Somewhere in the middle of that, someone mentions paid ads, and suddenly you&#8217;re wondering if spending money on advertising is the move that finally smooths everything out, or the thing that pushes you over the edge.</p>
<p>The honest answer is: It depends on where you are right now.</p>
<h2>Are You Actually Ready for Paid Ads?</h2>
<p>Before spending anything on <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/advertising/">advertising</a>, it&#8217;s worth asking one simple question: What happens if 10 new people contact you this week?</p>
<p>If your answer is &#8220;I&#8217;d figure it out,&#8221; that&#8217;s a warning sign. If your answer is &#8220;I have a process for that and a couple of open slots,&#8221; you&#8217;re probably ready. Paid ads don&#8217;t fix a business that&#8217;s struggling to keep up, they just bring more of the same situation to your door, faster.</p>
<p>You&#8217;re in a good place to try ads if:</p>
<ul>
<li>You can describe exactly <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/ideal-client/">who your best clients are</a> and what they need</li>
<li>You have time slots available that you genuinely want to fill</li>
<li>You can get back to new inquiries within a day or so</li>
<li>You have a clear sense of <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/how-much-should-i-charge-for-organizing-services/">what you charge</a> and what a typical job looks like</li>
</ul>
<p>If most of those are true, <a href="https://www.thesmallbusinessexpo.com/blog/effective-ads-for-small-business/#what-makes-an-ad-truly-effective-for-small-business"><u>a small, focused ad campaign</u></a> can help you fill your calendar on your terms instead of waiting on referrals.</p>
<h2>What Kind of Ads Actually Work for Solo Organizers</h2>
<p>You don&#8217;t need a complicated strategy. You need one that fits how you work.</p>
<ul>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Google search ads </b></strong>show up when someone nearby types something like &#8220;help organizing my home&#8221; or &#8220;professional organizer near me.&#8221; These tend to bring in people who are already looking and ready to book, which makes them a natural fit for a service like yours.</li>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Follow-up ads </b></strong>are shown to people who visited your website but never reached out. Most people get distracted and forget; these ads give them a gentle nudge to come back. They&#8217;re usually cheap to run and work well even on a small budget.</li>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Social media lead ads </b></strong>let people send you their contact details without leaving Facebook or Instagram. You&#8217;ll get more responses because it&#8217;s easy to fill out, but the people responding aren&#8217;t always ready to book right away. These work better for building up a list of interested people during slower periods.</li>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Scarcity ads </b></strong>are exactly what they sound like: ads that mention you only have a few spots open. Something like &#8220;taking 3 new clients this month&#8221; in your ad does two things: it filters out people who aren&#8217;t serious, and it gives people a reason to reach out now rather than putting it off.</li>
</ul>
<h2>Keep It Simple When You&#8217;re Running Everything Yourself</h2>
<p>The biggest mistake solo business owners make with ads is overcomplicating them. You don&#8217;t need five campaigns, a fancy funnel, or a big budget. You need something simple enough that you can actually manage it between client sessions.</p>
<p>Here&#8217;s what that looks like in practice:</p>
<ul>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Pick one service to advertise. </b></strong>Don&#8217;t try to promote everything at once. Choose your most popular or most profitable offering — a single-room reset, a home office session, a pre-move declutter — and write one ad for that. One clear message will always outperform a vague one.</li>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Set a budget you&#8217;re comfortable losing. </b></strong>Especially in the beginning, think of your ad spend as money you&#8217;re paying to learn what works. <a href="https://velocityppc.com/blog/google-ads-budget-for-small-business/"><u>Start with an amount that won&#8217;t hurt</u></a> if it doesn&#8217;t produce results right away; somewhere in the range of $10–$20 a day is plenty to get started locally.</li>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Write your ad like you&#8217;re talking to one person. </b></strong><a href="https://windowstill.com/how-to-write-ad-copy-that-sounds-like-youre-just-chatting/posts/"><u>Lead with the problem</u></a> your client is trying to solve, not your qualifications. &#8220;Finally get your home office under control&#8221; will get more clicks than &#8220;certified professional organizer serving the area.&#8221; People hire you to solve a problem; make sure your ad speaks to that.</li>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Only run ads when you have room. </b></strong>This sounds obvious, but it&#8217;s easy to forget. If your next available slot is six weeks out, pause your ads until you&#8217;re ready to take on new clients. An inquiry you can&#8217;t follow up on quickly is a wasted opportunity — and a frustrated potential client.</li>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Check in once a week. </b></strong>You don&#8217;t need to monitor your ads every day. Pick one day each week to look at how many people clicked, how many reached out, and how many booked. That&#8217;s enough information to decide whether to keep going, adjust, or pause.</li>
<li><b></b><strong><b>Keep a simple weekly record of your results. </b></strong>Every week, jot down how much you spent, how many people reached out, and how many booked. Over time, that record becomes genuinely useful; you&#8217;ll start to see patterns, like which months are slower or which offer gets the most responses. Combine your invoices, ad notes, and any screenshots into one document using a PDF merge tool—<a href="https://www.adobe.com/acrobat/online/merge-pdf.html"><u>give this a try</u></a> if you don&#8217;t already have something in place. One file per month is all you need.</li>
</ul>
<blockquote><p><b>Want to talk to colleagues about marketing strategies &#8211; or anything else?</b></p>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/pops/"><span style="font-weight: 400;">Join the POPS Circle</span></a><span style="font-weight: 400;">, where organizing and productivity professionals share ideas, experiences, and encouragement.</span></p></blockquote>
<h2>FAQ</h2>
<p><strong><b>Should I start with Google or social media ads?</b></strong><br />
Google is usually the better starting point for professional organizers because it reaches <a href="https://www.ciirus.com/knowledge/getting-started-should-i-run-paid-ads-on-social-media-or-google"><u>people who are already searching for help</u></a>. Social media ads are better for getting in front of people who don&#8217;t know they need you yet, which takes longer to turn into bookings.</p>
<p><strong><b>How much should I spend to start?</b></strong><br />
Enough to get real information without real risk. For most local markets, $300–$500 a month will tell you whether ads are working for your business. The first month is about learning, not profit.</p>
<p><strong><b>What if I get more inquiries than I can handle?</b></strong><br />
That&#8217;s a good problem, but it still needs managing. Add a short intake form to your booking page so people self-qualify before reaching you. Set an auto-reply that lets people know your next available date. And if it keeps happening, consider raising your rates; demand is telling you something.</p>
<h2>Conclusion</h2>
<p>Paid ads work when your business is ready for them, not before. Start small, keep it simple, and only advertise the service you can deliver well right now. A focused $300 campaign that brings in two great clients is worth far more than a complicated strategy that brings in ten people you can&#8217;t serve properly. Growth is the goal, but sustainable growth is the one worth building toward.</p>
<p><em>Image by <a href="https://pixabay.com/users/tamimt9b-52666316/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=10010442">Tamim Ahmed</a> from <a href="https://pixabay.com//?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=10010442">Pixabay</a></em></p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/paid-advertising-strategies/">Smart Paid Advertising Strategies for Small Businesses Facing Rapid Growth</a> and join the conversation.</p>
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		<title>Digital Life Balance &#8211; Productivity &#038; Organizing Blog Carnival</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/digital-life-balance-pobc/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/digital-life-balance-pobc/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Janet Barclay]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 19 Mar 2026 11:54:13 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Productivity & Organizing Blog Carnival (formerly Professional Organizers Blog Carnival)]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Top Posts]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[work-life balance]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/?p=60177</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>Between constant notifications, endless tabs, and the temptation to “just check one thing,” it’s easy for our digital lives to spill into every corner of our days. The average person spends more than six hours a day online — nearly a third of our waking lives. Some of those moments are intentional, but many happen&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/digital-life-balance-pobc/">Digital Life Balance &#8211; Productivity &#038; Organizing Blog Carnival</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Between constant notifications, endless tabs, and the temptation to “just check one thing,” it’s easy for our digital lives to spill into every corner of our days.</p>
<p>The average person spends <a href="https://www.statista.com/statistics/1380282/daily-time-spent-online-global/">more than six hours a day online</a> — nearly a third of our waking lives. Some of those moments are intentional, but many happen before we even realize we’ve picked the device up. Creating digital balance isn’t about abandoning technology; it’s about using it with intention.</p>
<p>That’s why this edition of the Productivity &amp; Organizing Blog Carnival is focused on Digital Life Balance — small, thoughtful choices that help technology support our lives instead of running them. My readers have shared a number of strategies that help us manage screen time, tame digital clutter, set healthier boundaries, and create a healthier relationship with the tools we rely on every day.</p>
<p data-start="47" data-end="296">As you read the posts listed below, please connect with the bloggers on social media, leave comments, and share your favorite posts with your network.</p>
<p data-start="47" data-end="296"><div id="gv-view-34962-2" class="gv-template-table"><div class="gv-table-view gv-table-container gv-table-multiple-container gv-container gv-container-34962">
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Carrie Cooper</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://carriecoopercoaching.com/finding-digital-balance/">Finding Digital Balance</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Debbie Rosemont</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.itssimplyplaced.com/digital-organizing-and-the-environmental-impacts-of-the-cloud/">Digital Organizing and the Environmental Impacts of the Cloud</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Hazel Thornton</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.org4life.com/social-media-clutter">Clearing Social Media Clutter</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Julie Bestry</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://juliebestry.com/2024/02/26/celebrate-the-global-day-of-unplugging/">Celebrate the Global Day of Unplugging</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Julie Stobbe</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://mindoverclutter.ca/manage-technology-before-it-manages-you/">Manage Technology Before it Manages You</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Linda Samuels</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.ohsoorganized.com/blog/2016/11/1/9-digital-overwhelm-challenges-and-helpful-human-solutions.html">9 Digital Overwhelm Challenges and Helpful Human Solutions</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Lisa Griffith</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://griffithproductivitysolutions.com/dial-down-the-distractions/">Dial Down the Distractions</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Natalie Gallagher</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://refinedroomsllc.com/computer-desktop-organization/">Computer Desktop Organization Tips + Free Desktop Background Organizer</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Pam Wong</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://zennorganized.com/digital-declutter/">Digital Declutter</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Phaedra Studt</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://www.practicalpossibilities.com/overcome-tab-overwhelm">Overcome Tab Overwhelm With These Strategies</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Sabrina Quairoli</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://sabrinasadminservices.com/digital-business-life-balance-setting-healthy-boundaries/">Digital Business Life Balance: Setting Healthy Boundaries</a></td>			</tr>
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				<td id="gv-field-1-1" class="gv-field-1-1" data-label="">Seana Turner</td><td id="gv-field-1-5" class="gv-field-1-5" data-label=""><a href="https://theseanamethod.com/2026/03/how-to-keep-your-phone-from-taking-over-your-life/">How to Keep Your Phone From Taking Over Your Life</a></td>			</tr>
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<p>Thanks to everyone who contributed to this month’s Blog Carnival!</p>
<p>I’m now accepting submissions for the <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/pobc-submission-form/">next Productivity &amp; Organizing Blog Carnival</a>, when our topic will be <strong>Sustainable Organizing.</strong></p>
<blockquote>
<p class="wp-block-heading"><strong>Interested in reaching even more readers?</strong></p>
<p>If your product or service would interest professional organizers, productivity consultants, or their clients, consider <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/advertising/">sponsoring an upcoming edition</a> of the Productivity &amp; Organizing Blog Carnival! It’s an excellent way to maximize your exposure and support this growing community.</p></blockquote>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/digital-life-balance-pobc/">Digital Life Balance &#8211; Productivity &#038; Organizing Blog Carnival</a> and join the conversation.</p>
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		<title>Fabulous free and inexpensive photos for your blog</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/where-to-get-photos-for-your-blog/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/where-to-get-photos-for-your-blog/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Janet Barclay]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 17 Mar 2026 11:49:57 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[blog images]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[stock photos]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/?p=4833</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>The time is long past when you could just post an article on your website and hope to hold readers’ attention. These days, people expect to see big bold beautiful images – and lots of them! Although in most cases you don’t want the photos to overshadow your text, it’s important to include at least&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/where-to-get-photos-for-your-blog/">Fabulous free and inexpensive photos for your blog</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The time is long past when you could just post an article on your website and hope to hold readers’ attention. These days, people expect to see big bold beautiful images – and lots of them!</p>
<p>Although in most cases you don’t want the photos to overshadow your text, it’s important to include at least one full size image on each of your blog posts – not just to embellish the post, but so it’s more compelling when shared on social media.</p>
<p>There are hundreds of sites offering photos you can use, either for free or by paying a licensing fee, but here are a few of my favorite sources.</p>
<h2>Free Stock Photos</h2>
<p>For free photos, I really like <a href="https://www.pexels.com/">Pexels</a>. You’re allowed to use any of the 40,000+ photos on their site for any legal purpose, even commercially, with no attribution required. You can even download them in the exact size you need so you can skip the step of <a href="https://organizedassistant.com/blog-photo-best-practices/">resizing</a> them before you upload them to your blog.</p>
<p>You can also download images from any of the following sites absolutely free, and with no attribution required. You don’t even have to share your email address!</p>
<ul>
<li><a href="https://www.rawpixel.com/?referral=1614875&amp;u=Janet&amp;source=link">RawPixels</a></li>
<li><a href="https://stocksnap.io/">StockSnap</a></li>
<li><a href="https://burst.shopify.com/">Burst</a></li>
<li><a href="https://kaboompics.com/">Kaboom Pics</a></li>
<li><a href="https://negativespace.co/">Negative Space</a></li>
<li><a href="http://pixabay.com/">Pixabay</a></li>
<li><a href="https://unsplash.com/">Unsplash</a></li>
<li><a href="https://pikwizard.com/">Pikwizard</a></li>
</ul>
<p>If you don’t mind joining their mailing list, check out HubSpot&#8217;s <a href="https://offers.hubspot.com/most-searched-for-free-stock-photos">Free Stock Photo Collection</a>.</p>
<p>You can also find great photos on <a href="http://flickr.com/">Flickr</a>, but you’ll need to do an <a href="http://www.flickr.com/search/advanced">Advanced Search</a> to pinpoint those that have a <a href="http://creativecommons.org/">Creative Commons</a> license and are available to use commercially. When using Creative Commons content, you must attribute the work in the manner specified by the photographer – usually this involves a link back to their Flickr profile, but always check in case they’ve requested something different.</p>
<p>Speaking of attribution, it’s nice to acknowledge a photographer, even when it’s not required. Everyone likes to receive credit for their work!</p>
<p>There are loads more free stock photo sites than what I’ve mentioned here, but I’ve only got so much time for exploring! For a longer list which includes the pros and cons of each site, check out <a href="https://www.stockphotosecrets.com/best-free-stock-photo-sites">The 27 Best Free Stock Photo Sites</a>.</p>
<h2>Inexpensive Stock Photos</h2>
<p>The search tools on most free sites aren’t very powerful, so you can end up spending a lot of time trying to find an image that portrays the concept of your post, is the right shape for your blog, and harmonizes with the colors of your site. For that reason, it’s often worth it to spend a little money to find what you need more quickly.</p>
<p><a href="https://depositphotos.com/?ref=1562122">Depositphotos</a> often has a special offer on their site where you can buy 100 on demand downloads for $80 (good for one year) and you can sometimes get a great price on photo credits through <a href="https://appsumo.pxf.io/c/1199001/416948/7443?u=https%3A%2F%2Fappsumo.com%2F">AppSumo</a> or another deal site. Otherwise, you’re looking at spending around $54.00 for 10 images or $29.00 for a monthly subscription allowing you to download 30 images. The more you spend, the lower your cost per image works out to be.</p>
<p>Styled stock photos are a good choice if your blog is geared towards women, and you’ll find a great selection at <a href="http://ivorymix.com/?wpam_id=31">IvoryMix</a>. Kayla Butler, the creative genius behind IvoryMix, sells bundles of photos that are related by theme and/or or color, which is great if you’re trying to achieve a consistent brand image on your blog. She also offers memberships, where you can access her entire library of stock photos along with thousands of templates for a set yearly price.</p>
<p>Both of these sites offer selected photos for free, so be sure to check them out.</p>
<h2>Your Own Photos</h2>
<p>One of the downsides of using stock photos, especially from the more popular free sites, is that lots of other bloggers are using the same ones.</p>
<p>To be sure that the images you use are truly unique to your blog, consider shooting your own. If you do, make sure your photos are in focus and neither too dark or washed out. Touch them up with photo editing software, such as <a href="https://www.picmonkey.com/">PicMonkey</a> or <a href="http://acdsystems.go2cloud.org/SH2M">ACDSee</a> (affiliate link), if necessary.</p>
<h2>Professional Photos</h2>
<p>I know that hiring a professional photographer for your blog is probably not in your budget. However, if you’re paying someone to do your headshots or to photograph your products, see if you can think of ways to use those top quality images on your blog as well.</p>
<p>Alternatively, you might be able to find a photography student or new photographer in your local network who would be willing to take some photos for you in exchange for a credit on your website.</p>
<h2>Let’s talk!</h2>
<p>Where do you get the photos for your blog?</p>
<blockquote><p><strong>Get your daily blogging boost!</strong></p>
<p>Join <a href="https://www.facebook.com/groups/bloggingorganizers">Blogging Organizers</a> on Facebook for resources, tips, and inspiration — plus a community that actually engages, five days a week.</p></blockquote>
<p><em>Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/photos/j9EtVGr0piI?utm_source=unsplash&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_content=creditCopyText">Panos Sakalakis</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/?utm_source=unsplash&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a></em></p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/where-to-get-photos-for-your-blog/">Fabulous free and inexpensive photos for your blog</a> and join the conversation.</p>
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		<title>Interview with Professional Organizer Amy Bergman </title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/amy-bergman-interview/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/amy-bergman-interview/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Janet Barclay]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 12 Mar 2026 11:57:23 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Organizer Interviews]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[new organizer]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/?p=60909</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>My latest interview is with Amy Bergman of Amyzing Spaces. Welcome, Amy! Please tell us about your business! I serve Palm Beach County, Florida with in-person decluttering and organizing services, and work with clients anywhere through virtual organizing. I also offer engaging speaking engagements and workshops focused on decluttering, organization, time management, and productivity. How&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/amy-bergman-interview/">Interview with Professional Organizer Amy Bergman </a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>My latest interview is with Amy Bergman of <a href="https://www.amyzingspaces.com"><u>Amyzing Spaces</u></a>.</p>
<p><strong><b>We</b></strong><strong><b>lcome, Amy! Please tell us about your </b></strong><strong><b>business</b></strong><strong><b>!</b></strong></p>
<p>I serve Palm Beach County, Florida with in-person decluttering and organizing services, and work with clients anywhere through virtual organizing. I also offer engaging speaking engagements and workshops focused on decluttering, organization, time management, and productivity.</p>
<p><strong><b>How did you come up with your business name?</b></strong></p>
<p>Since I was a young girl, people have always called me “Amazing Amy.” When I left Corporate America after 20 years to start my own business, I knew that “Amyzing” had to be part of my company name. It felt personal, memorable, and a perfect reflection of the positive, encouraging way I work with clients. It also ties into how I try to leave people feeling at the end of every interaction, so much so that I sign off many of my social media posts and videos with, “Have an Amyzing Day!”</p>
<p><strong><b>How did your training and experience prepare you to become an organizer?</b></strong></p>
<p>I did most of my initial training through NAPO, but I have also attended the <a href="https://www.challengingdisorganization.org/education-and-events/upcoming-events/"><u>ICD conference</u></a> for the past three years and have found their resources and training to be instrumental in my daily work.</p>
<p><strong><b>What</b></strong><strong><b>’</b></strong><strong><b>s your specialty?</b></strong></p>
<p>I specialize in helping individuals and families create calm, functional homes by decluttering and building organizing systems that are realistic, sustainable, and tailored to how they actually live. I work extensively with clients going through life-cycle transitions, such as downsizing, empty nesting, retirement, or relocation, and with those who have moved to Florida and need support decluttering, setting up new homes, and creating systems that fit their new space and lifestyle. My work also addresses the emotional side of clutter, along with time management and productivity, so clients feel less overwhelmed and more in control.</p>
<p><strong><b>What other services or products do you offer?</b></strong></p>
<p>In addition to one-on-one organizing, I offer engaging speaking engagements and interactive workshops for congregations, community groups, and organizations. Topics include decluttering the home, time management, and productivity, as well as specialty programs such as my Junk Drawer Workshop and “The Clutter We Carry: Organizing Your Phone,” which helps participants simplify their digital lives. My talks combine practical, actionable strategies with a warm, relatable approach that supports both the physical and emotional sides of organization.</p>
<p><strong><b>How do you approach a new organizing project?</b></strong></p>
<p>I approach each new project with eyes wide open and no judgement. I ask a ton of questions and then give myself space to do the research to find resources that may help me and my client achieve their goals. I do not have one set way to help my clients; each project is unique.</p>
<p><strong><b>What&#8217;s the most surprising thing you&#8217;ve discovered about running an organizing business?</b></strong></p>
<p>The deep connection with the client and the fulfillment I get from helping them!</p>
<p><strong><b>What is the biggest challenge you currently face in your business?</b></strong></p>
<p>As a solopreneur, it can be challenging to not have a partner or team to bounce ideas off. This is where I rely on my NAPO colleagues or the ladies in my networking group to help me brainstorm or process.</p>
<p><strong><b>How are you marketing your business?</b></strong></p>
<p>I market my work through a mix of online and in-person relationship building. I’m active on social media, primarily <a href="https://www.instagram.com/amyzing_spaces/"><u>Instagram</u></a> and <a href="https://www.facebook.com/113165681283909"><u>Facebook</u></a>, and I also use <a href="https://www.linkedin.com/in/amy-bergman-aa25b151/"><u>LinkedIn</u></a> to connect with professionals and share my expertise.</p>
<p>One of my most successful marketing channels has been being an engaged member of a local women’s business networking group, which has led to meaningful connections and referrals. I also draw on a long-standing personal and professional network built through decades of working in my community. In addition, I use micro-marketing strategies such as donating services and products to local nonprofits for silent auctions and fundraisers, which helps with visibility and goodwill.</p>
<p>Podcast appearances and speaking engagements are another important way I share my message, build credibility, and attract new clients.</p>
<p><strong><b>What professional associations or other organizations do you belong to?</b></strong></p>
<p>NAPO National and my local chapter.</p>
<p><strong><b>What&#8217;s your favorite organizing product? </b></strong></p>
<p>Oh my goodness, it is so hard to pick one! I guess I would have to say a good <a href="https://amzn.to/4smBWrH"><u>turntable</u></a>. Turntables make any surface or shelf immediately more efficient and accessible. They can be used in a variety of spaces&#8212;a pantry, bathroom, kids’ playroom, etc. I especially like a <a href="https://amzn.to/4smBWrH"><u>sectioned turntable</u></a>.</p>
<p><strong><b>Do you offer any products or services for other organizers?</b></strong></p>
<p>At this time, I do not sell products or formal services specifically for other professional organizers. However, I am always open to connecting with and supporting colleagues in the industry by sharing what I’ve learned and what has worked for me along the way. I enjoy mentoring informally and contributing to the professional community, and I’ve been featured twice on the “<a href="https://ispeakorganized.com/podcast"><u>I Speak Organized</u></a>” podcast, where I shared tips, insights, and best practices with fellow organizers.</p>
<p><strong><b>What do you like to do when you&#8217;re not working?</b></strong></p>
<p>When I am not working, my time is spent exercising and cooking. I love to start my mornings with outdoor walks.</p>
<p><strong><b>What else should we know about you?</b></strong></p>
<p>I am a native Floridian who has visited all 50 states. I love watching parades and dream of going to the Rose Bowl Parade in California one year.</p>
<p style="padding-left: 40px;"><strong>Would you like to be interviewed for Your Organizing Business?</strong></p>
<p style="padding-left: 40px;"><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/organizer-interview-questionnaire/">Simply fill out the questionnaire!</a></p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/amy-bergman-interview/">Interview with Professional Organizer Amy Bergman </a> and join the conversation.</p>
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		<title>Safety Considerations for the Professional Organizer and the Client</title>
		<link>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/safety-professional-organizer/</link>
					<comments>https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/safety-professional-organizer/#comments</comments>
		
		<dc:creator><![CDATA[Anne Blumer]]></dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 10 Mar 2026 12:00:56 +0000</pubDate>
				<category><![CDATA[Working with Clients]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[image]]></category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://instproorg.tempurl.host/?p=2665</guid>

					<description><![CDATA[<p>Who thought organizing could be hazardous? I certainly didn&#8217;t. Over the years of working with clients, I have experienced a few unsafe situations and want to share some strategies to keep you and your clients safe when decluttering and organizing. Safety Points for the Professional Organizer The safety points below are from Debbie Stanley&#8217;s book&#8230;</p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/safety-professional-organizer/">Safety Considerations for the Professional Organizer and the Client</a> and join the conversation.</p>
]]></description>
										<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Who thought organizing could be hazardous? I certainly didn&#8217;t. Over the years of working with clients, I have experienced a few unsafe situations and want to share some strategies to keep you and your clients safe when decluttering and organizing.</p>
<h2>Safety Points for the Professional Organizer</h2>
<p>The safety points below are from Debbie Stanley&#8217;s book titled <a href="https://amzn.to/4cWhw4g"><em>Let Me Show You the Basement</em></a>. The title is based on an experience that she had with a client who she names Mr. Creepy.</p>
<ul>
<li>Take a self-defense class to prepare you for the event of a personal attack.</li>
<li>Use a separate phone number for your business.</li>
<li>Have a post office box for your business address. There&#8217;s no reason why your clients should be able to have access to you personally by phone or physical address.</li>
<li>Familiarize yourself with the client&#8217;s location.</li>
<li>Have your cell phone turned on, and on your body, not in your work bag.</li>
<li>Be able to leave your work bag and purse. Whatever you have in your bag or your purse, you need to be okay to leave behind should you need to. Be sure your address is not on something you might leave behind.</li>
<li>Wear clothing and close-toed shoes that you can quickly run in should you need to make a hasty retreat.</li>
<li>Always let someone know where you are. You can do this by sharing your calendar either online or leaving a paper copy at your home office. That&#8217;s particularly important for professional organizers who live alone. Should you go missing, it is going be very helpful if there is some type of a trail to start with, and having your calendar visible and accessible is one way to do that.</li>
<li>Leave something by the entry door.</li>
<li>Always walk behind your client and locate exits.</li>
<li>Do not reveal too much personal information.</li>
<li>Do not accept food or beverages from clients unless you know and trust them well.</li>
<li>Carry dog treats to ward off aggressive domestic dogs.</li>
<li>Do not wear excessive jewelry.</li>
<li>Consider wearing your hair up if it is long.</li>
<li>Keep your hands free and above your waist.</li>
<li>Last, but most importantly, trust your instincts. If you have ever trusted your gut to be a barometer for dangerous situations, then that&#8217;s something that you should believe in interacting with clients as well. Gavin de Becker, who wrote the book <a href="https://amzn.to/4rLqkid"><em>The Gift of Fear</em></a>, says, &#8220;Intuition is knowing without knowing why.&#8221; It&#8217;s that feeling, and if you get that feeling, then it might be best to say no to that particular client opportunity.</li>
</ul>
<h2>Safety Points for You and Your Client</h2>
<ul>
<li>Know your and your client&#8217;s physical limitations when lifting, reaching, bending, and climbing stairs. Don&#8217;t exceed your limitations, no matter how hard someone pushes, and don&#8217;t push your client to exceed theirs.</li>
<li>Eat something and take any medications you need before a client session and instruct your client to do the same. Clients frequently ask me, &#8220;What should I do to prepare?&#8221; One of the tasks I have clients do to prepare is to eat something and take their medications before our session.</li>
<li>Every forty-five minutes to an hour, take a break by getting up and stretching. Get something to drink and get some fresh air, and have your client do the same.</li>
<li>Have a first aid kit in your work bag and onsite with you. If you have any type of medical condition that requires you to have access to medications, have those in your first aid kit.</li>
<li>Keep the area clear of tripping hazards. I cannot say this enough. I have seen clients trip, and I have tripped. It is so easy to do in the organizing process because things are in motion constantly.</li>
<li>Wear protective clothing. I do not suggest that you show up at a client session all suited up in a hazmat suit when the environment doesn&#8217;t warrant that. You want to be respectful. If you are dust sensitive, simply inform your client you are going to wear a mask because you are sensitive to dust. And you might offer them a dust mask as well.</li>
</ul>
<blockquote><p><strong>Want to talk to colleagues about safety issues &#8211; or anything else?</strong></p>
<p><a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/pops/">Join the POPS Circle</a> for ongoing conversations, support, and resource-sharing among organizing and productivity pros.</p></blockquote>
<h2>Speaking of Personal Protective Gear</h2>
<p>The following are suggested protective gear for working with clients:</p>
<ul>
<li><a href="https://amzn.to/4aW5d5l">Disposable shoe covers</a>. In case you do need to stomp on a cockroach!</li>
<li>A <a href="https://amzn.to/3Ncxj4w">dust mask</a> or higher grade, depending on the environment and the hazards that are presented</li>
<li>A <a href="https://amzn.to/402vz0L">flashlight</a> because sometimes you can&#8217;t see what is behind things, and a flashlight will illuminate those areas</li>
<li>Gloves—<a href="https://amzn.to/4rKuuGS">latex gloves</a>, as I mentioned. Also have heavier work gloves, such as <a href="https://amzn.to/405t3qA">garden gloves</a>.</li>
<li><a href="https://amzn.to/4l8bGir">Goggles</a>—It can seem funny wearing goggles, but sometimes you get in environments where there is dust flying around that you don&#8217;t want to get in your eyes</li>
<li><a href="https://amzn.to/405tzF2">Hand sanitizer</a> to help in any situation</li>
<li>A hat, such as a <a href="https://www.cafepress.com/+professional-organizer+baseball-caps">baseball cap</a> or something like that, for areas with cobwebs and spiders. When you are in a basement or attic area, you don&#8217;t know what&#8217;s creeping around above your head.</li>
<li>Most situations that we work in do not warrant a hazmat suit, but sometimes having <a href="https://amzn.to/4skinQQ">painter coveralls</a> to slip on to protect your clothing is a good idea</li>
<li><a href="https://amzn.to/405BJNE">Insect repellent</a> that is DEET-based</li>
<li><a href="https://amzn.to/4l4NeOJ">Benadryl</a>, if you might be allergic to insect bites</li>
<li>An inhaler if you have asthma</li>
</ul>
<p><strong>What other safety strategies can you offer? Please post below.</strong></p>
<p><em><i>Photo © Fesenko /</i></em><a href="https://depositphotos.com/?ref=1562122" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer"><em><i> </i></em><em><u><i>depositphotos</i></u></em></a></p>
<p>Visit Your Organizing Business to read <a href="https://yourorganizingbusiness.com/safety-professional-organizer/">Safety Considerations for the Professional Organizer and the Client</a> and join the conversation.</p>
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