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	<title>Search and Social Media</title>
	
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		<title>3 Ways to Improve Pharma Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Bounce Rates (Part 3)</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/3cxFlKJNWeQ/3-ways-to-improve-pharma-search-engine-marketing-sem-bounce-rates-part-3.html</link>
		<comments>http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/3-ways-to-improve-pharma-search-engine-marketing-sem-bounce-rates-part-3.html#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 24 Jan 2010 18:10:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pharma Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[bounce rate]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[KPI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[pharma sem]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SEM]]></category>

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		<description><![CDATA[&#160;

(www.rit.edu/~andpph/exhibit-8.html; taken by Andrew Davidhazy)

Part One of the &#8220;Pharma Bounce Rate&#8221; Series explores why bounce rate is an important KPI for pharmaceutical search engine marketing campaigns: pharma sites are &#8220;content sites&#8221; typically designed to educate patients and healthcare providers, so if site visitors are not clicking deeper into the site, bounces indicate wasted advertising spend.
In [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/pharma-bounce-rate-series-part-two-how-the-fda-letters-on-paid-search-impacted-pharma-site-bounce-rates.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharma Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part Two: How the FDA Letters on Paid Search Impacted Pharma Site Bounce Rates'>Pharma Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part Two: How the FDA Letters on Paid Search Impacted Pharma Site Bounce Rates</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/pharma-sem-bounce-rate-series-part-one-why-is-bounce-rate-important-to-pharma-sem-ppc-search-campaigns.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?'>Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p>&nbsp;<a href='http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image001.jpg'><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image001.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a>
</p>
<p><em><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Consolas;">(<a href="http://www.rit.edu/~andpph/exhibit-8.html">www.rit.edu/~andpph/exhibit-8.html</a>; taken by Andrew Davidhazy)</span></em></p>
<div>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href="http://pharmasearchsocialmobile.posterous.com/pharma-sem-bounce-rates-part-one-why-is-bounc">Part One of the &#8220;Pharma Bounce Rate&#8221; Series</a> explores why bounce rate is an important KPI for pharmaceutical search engine marketing campaigns: pharma sites are &ldquo;content sites&rdquo; typically designed to educate patients and healthcare providers, so if site visitors are not clicking deeper into the site, bounces indicate wasted advertising spend.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href="http://pharmasearchsocialmobile.posterous.com/2008-and-2009-pharma-benchmark-data-bounce-ra">In Part Two</a>, we analyze five top pharmaceutical brand websites&rsquo; bounce rates and begin to understand the impact of the FDA Letters on Sponsored Links on bounce rate.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Part Three focuses on the<strong>&nbsp;three key ways to improve pharma paid search (SEM) campaign bounce rates</strong> &ndash; typically one of the largest sources of traffic for major pharmaceutical brand sites.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText">&nbsp;<strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><span>1.<span style="font:7pt Times New Roman;">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </span></span></span></strong><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Optimize Your Keyword List</span></strong></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" style="margin-left:.5in;"><span style="text-decoration:underline;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><strong>Begin by reviewing the Google AdWords&nbsp; &ldquo;search query performance report&rdquo;</strong></span></span><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"> to identify irrelevant search terms and phrases triggering your paid search (SEM) text ads on Google.&nbsp; (This is one of the easiest ways to improve pharma SEM bounce rates). When using broad-match and phrase-match keywords, your ads are eligible to appear whenever the user&rsquo;s search query contains your targeted keywords.&nbsp; Therefore, your ads could be appearing on less-relevant searches and so we need to actively optimize our negative keyword list to reduce irrelevant clicks to our site, since these clicks will likely bounce.&nbsp; </span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">For example, <a href="http://www.patientslikeme.com/">PatientsLikeMe.com</a> is promoting their Epilepsy Community with Google AdWords, and they appear to be targeting &ldquo;epilepsy&rdquo; or &ldquo;epilepsy treatment&rdquo; as broad-match keywords.</span></p>
<p><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><br />
</span>
<p style="text-align:center;"><a href='http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/pharmasearchsocialmobile/muW96CQP4Ln5gX40CWtL90mE0pWrsITSuBRuBqHBwp8P6GPN8DzDbDkfnOQK/image002.jpg'><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image002-scaled-500.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a><br />
<img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image003.jpg?w=300" width="418"></p>
<div><a href='http://pharmasearchsocialmobile.posterous.com/pharma-bounce-rate-series-part-three-5-ways-t'>See and download the full gallery on posterous</a></div>
</p>
<p style="text-align:left;">In the screenshots above, we can see that their text ad is appearing for the search query &ldquo;horse epilepsy treatment&rdquo;, and when we click the ad, the landing page is for people, not horses, so this&nbsp; lack of relevance between keyword and landing page is likely causing these search visitors to bounce (and costing PatientsLikeMe.com valuable marketing dollars).</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Recommended Action:</span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">&nbsp; Review the &ldquo;search query performance report&rdquo; each week and add irrelevant queries as negative keywords to our Google AdWords campaign to improve ad relevance, reduce landing page bounce rate and improve return on ad spend. In the example above, PatientsLikeMe would add the word &ldquo;horse&rdquo; as negative broad-matched keyword to their campaign to prevent their ad from showing on any search queries that contain the word &ldquo;horse&rdquo;.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">This is an <em>ongoing</em> process, so after we&rsquo;ve <em>committed </em>to<em> </em>maintaining a clean AdWords account by adding negative keywords on a weekly basis, we&rsquo;ll want to focus on improving the bounce rate on keywords that are actually relevant, but for some reason are underperforming.&nbsp; </span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="text-decoration:underline;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><strong>Second, focus on improving the <em>right</em> keywords.</strong></span></span><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"> Our goal now is to identify keywords that are relevant to our site, but that are both underperforming in terms of bounce rate AND high-volume in terms of traffic to our site, so that subsequent optimization efforts yield significant impact.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Any web analytics package will provide this data.&nbsp; Here&rsquo;s how to use Google Analytics to quickly identify high-volume keywords that are underperforming based on bounce rate, broken out by search engine:</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href='http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/pharmasearchsocialmobile/L4IpJvyEHqu1VyaQBSApbrSIvYBg8MpX5tZunILTdIzx2YoxDY3BpB9A9CRZ/image004.jpg'><img src="http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/pharmasearchsocialmobile/YoDSCzrw06D9p6NGhxRUF3KDRNPsspRomrayZeq8Rf7j0VNogcG5jwgm9iZ3/image004.jpg.scaled.500.jpg" width="500"></a><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Now that you&rsquo;ve got your list of high-volume, high-bouncing keywords, you can focus your ad copy and landing page optimizations on these keywords for maximum impact. (Special thanks to the guys at <a href="http://www.lunametrics.com/">LunaMetrics</a> for calling out the new Pivot option, and inspiring this screenshot.)</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><span>2.<span style="font:7pt Times New Roman;">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </span></span></span></strong><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Optimize Your Ad Copy.</span></strong></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Discourage unwanted clicks.</span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"> There are a variety of reasons different people (who may not be our desired target audience) search for health-related keywords.&nbsp; For example, students conduct research while writing course papers, or the general population may suddenly start searching for a condition term in response to a news story.&nbsp; If you&rsquo;re targeting only people who have been diagnosed, one way to reduce clicks from general researchers is to create ad copy that speaks directly to your intended audience. </span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">In this example, when I search for keyword &ldquo;mental health&rdquo;, we see <a href="http://www.livingwithschitzophrenia.com">www.livingwithschitzophrenia.com</a> (Abilify&rsquo;s unbranded vanity URL) shows an ad with the headline &ldquo;Info on Schizophrenia&rdquo;.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href='http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/pharmasearchsocialmobile/YBsljpLdO8dGOJCGv2AdcdR9E8URjsa78HJde50nZgPB25QlrGdyTvdkDUWz/image005.jpg'><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image005-scaled-500.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">While this does a good job of encouraging clicks from people looking for information on schizophrenia, it does a poor job of discouraging clicks from general researchers. (More on unbranded vanity URLS vs. branded URLs below.)</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Here&rsquo;s an example where PatientsLikeMe.com is doing a good job with their ad copy when targeting keyword &ldquo;epilepsy&rdquo;:</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image006.jpg?w=224" width="224"><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">By using ad copy that targets only patients who have epilepsy (&ldquo;Do You Have Epilepsy?&rdquo;), they are helping to reduce clicks from people who are not diagnosed with epilepsy and therefore may be more likely to bounce from their landing page which his focused on epilepsy patients.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">For certain keywords, pharma companies often&nbsp;want to target healthcare professionals, rather than patients.&nbsp; From Google&rsquo;s &ldquo;<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jd0WF9nP4LA">Connecting with Physicians Online</a>&rdquo;, we know that physicians are very interested in new drug developments and clinical trials.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">A search for psychiatry drug clinical trials shows the following ad from PfizerPro.com, Pfizer&rsquo;s healthcare professionals&rsquo; website:&nbsp;</span><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">&nbsp; </span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href='http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/pharmasearchsocialmobile/5E6AoSH93nryWQRXhsJBIF5YjzKWkECg27urHuTwqD85MMDW5KOBWAdRl2GP/image007.jpg'><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image007-scaled-500.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Pfizer does a good job of discouraging patients from clicking on their ad for psychiatry studies by calling out &ldquo;for Healthcare Professionals&rdquo; in their ad copy.</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Recommended Actions: </span></strong></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Include qualifiers in your text ad copy</span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">. Use headlines like &ldquo;Diagnosed with Schizophrenia?&rdquo; or &ldquo;Managing Type 2 Diabetes?&rdquo; in your ad copy to improve the quality of our traffic, reduce unwanted clicks and reduce bounce rate. Or call out your specific audience in your ad copy (e.g. &ldquo;For Physicians Only&rdquo;),</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong></strong></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Test branded vs. unbranded vanity display URLs.</span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">&nbsp; A major event in 2009 for pharma paid search (SEM) advertisers was the FDA&rsquo;s issuance of Untitled Letters to 14 pharmaceutical companies regarding their use of sponsored search, and this resulted in an increased use of unbranded vanity display URLs driving to a branded site.&nbsp; While there are several benefits to this approach that we will not discuss here, one impact that several companies have seen is a higher bounce rate on ads that utilize an unbranded vanity display URL driving to a branded site.&nbsp; Yes, this is somewhat of a bait-and-switch, as <a href="http://www.doseofdigital.com/2009/03/pharma-use-google-paid-search-engine-marketing/">Jonathan Richman calls the &ldquo;switch-a-roo&rdquo;,</a> so it makes sense that bounce rates would be higher for these ads.&nbsp; But it isn&rsquo;t always the case, so you should be test branded vs. unbranded vanity display URLs in our text ads.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Here we can see that a search for &ldquo;COPD&rdquo; shows the different types of display URLs in action:&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href='http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/pharmasearchsocialmobile/khb3olbexJHng2dPkhAiTPzNdgf7eiN5fxE0oYSChOt7K8XmFjMk9uOUVF5q/image008.jpg'><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image008-scaled-500.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">The COPDTreatmentOption.com ad uses an unbranded vanity URL, and drives directly to the branded Sympicort site <a href="http://www.mysymbicort.com">www.mysymbicort.com</a>, while Singular&rsquo;s ad is a branded reminder ad with the branded URL SINGULAIR.com. Both ads comply with the guidance provided in the FDA Letters, so test both types of ads to see what works best for your campaign in terms of ad response, bounce rate and other on-site conversion metrics.</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><span>3.<span style="font:7pt Times New Roman;">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </span></span></span></strong><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Optimize Your Landing Pages</span></strong></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Landing page optimization is so valuable and so under-used within the pharma space, I will certainly be writing more posts on this topic.&nbsp; As search marketers, we&rsquo;re so focused on success factors like search engine technology, keyword research, searcher intent, bid management, ad testing and FDA regulation, that sometimes landing page optimization takes a back seat; but it shouldn&rsquo;t.&nbsp; It&rsquo;s one of the best tactics you can implement in terms of return on investment.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Landing page optimization is a craft unto itself, and I believe it should be a top-priority for pharma marketers looking to improve their search engine marketing campaigns in 2010.&nbsp; If you <a href="http://www.doseofdigital.com/2010/01/2010-resolution-2-become-an-expert-in-one-thing-digital-marketing/">focus on one thing in 2010</a>, I recommend it be landing page optimization.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">One of my favorite online marketing websites is called <a href="http://www.marketingexperiments.com/improving-website-conversion/sticky-landing-pages.html">Marketing Experiments</a>. (I am not affiliated with their company in any way, and I highly recommend you subscribe to their free enewsletter.)</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">One of the challenges with landing page optimization within the pharma space is the time and cost associated with the medical, regulatory, legal (MRL) review process, so let&rsquo;s explore 3 ways you can quickly improve your paid search (SEM) landing pages before engaging in a full landing page optimization approach.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Fulfill the promise and don&rsquo;t make me think.&nbsp; </span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">A common mistake pharma search marketing campaigns make is creating an expectation within the text ad, but then not paying it off directly on the landing page.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">In this example, we searched for keyword &ldquo;type 2 diabetes fitness tips&rdquo; and see this ad on the search results page:</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image009.jpg?w=287" width="287"><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">This text ad (unbranded vanity URL for Actos) is relevant to my search term (the headline mentions both &ldquo;Type 2 Diabetes&rsquo; and &ldquo;Exercise&rdquo;), and it also tells me that I can get &ldquo;helpful tools&rdquo;&hellip;great!</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">But the landing page for that text ad is product homepage:</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoListParagraph" align="center" style="margin-left:0;text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image010.jpg?w=300" width="394"><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Where are the fitness tips?&nbsp; Where is the exercise information?&nbsp; Where are the helpful tools?&nbsp; Visitors from search engines expect instant gratification.&nbsp; If you offer something in the text ad, but you don&rsquo;t deliver it immediately on the landing page, your bounce rate will be higher than necessary.&nbsp; It&rsquo;s a safe bet that visitors from fitness-related keywords are bouncing at a high rate for the Actos paid search campaign.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Here&rsquo;s a good example from Januvia&rsquo;s paid search (SEM) campaign.&nbsp; Same keyword as the above example: &ldquo;type 2 diabetes fitness tips&rdquo;:</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">The text ad is relevant to the search query:</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/image011.jpg'><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/image011.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">And the landing page pays off the text ad immediately, and then offers clear calls to action to drive further site engagement related to the search term:</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/image012.jpg'><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/image012.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">In terms of fulfilling the promise of the text ad, Januvia has done a good job here.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong></strong></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Recommended Action:</span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"> Drive to the most relevant page on the site (usually not the homepage), and if you don&rsquo;t have the relevant content, either put a plan in place to create it, or reconsider spending advertising dollars to target those keywords.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Sidebar: Richard Meyer at <a href="http://www.worldofdtcmarketing.com/files/088d18a52eedd52cedac6d5071dc09a7-871.html">World of DTC Marketing</a> recently posted a story about a medical devices maker that was spending over $1 million/year on paid search, yet had many keywords that were driving&nbsp; bounce rates as high as 97%. Richard found that many keywords with high bounce rates were driving visitors to the site homepage.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Eliminate clutter, and consider custom paid search landing pages. </span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">This is where I&rsquo;ll be focusing much of my optimization energies in 2010, and this will require importing lessons from industries other than pharma.&nbsp; </span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">The highly-competitive car insurance category offers some great examples of custom paid search landing pages that are highly-relevant to the keyword and pay off the text ad, but go one step further by eliminating clutter in order to focus on driving visitors into the website and reduce bounces.&nbsp; This is an especially good category to learn from, since cost per click (CPC) for car insurance keywords can be as high as $30 which means car insurance companies took an early lead in terms of optimizing landing pages, and also because they are similar to pharma brand sites, in that they are typically focused on just one main product (though not always).</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Here is the ad GEICO ran when I searched for &ldquo;auto insurance quote&rdquo;:</span>&nbsp;</p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><img src="http://testbed1.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/image013.jpg?w=253" width="253"><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">What&rsquo;s remarkable about their custom paid search landing page is the degree to which GEICO has <strong><em>eliminated clutter</em></strong>:</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" align="center" style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/image014.jpg?w=300" width="448"><br />
</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Note how it strips out the entire site navigation.&nbsp; Note how the call to action is above the fold. The landing page is designed specifically for people who searched for car insurance quote keywords, and so they aren&rsquo;t offering 15 different links that create friction.&nbsp; Contrast this with the Januvia example above.&nbsp; Do you think Januvia&rsquo;s paid search (SEM) bounce rate would decline if it created a custom paid search landing page for fitness-related keywords/text ads, and eliminated the side navigation?</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">What makes interactive marketing so exciting for me is that we don&rsquo;t have to guess, we can test.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">I&rsquo;ll be writing more about ways pharma companies can begin to create custom paid search landing pages and then test them to improve both engagement metrics like bounce rate, as well on conversion metrics like CRM signups and printouts of Doctor Discussion Guides.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText" style="text-align:center;">&nbsp;<strong><span style="font-size:12pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Have an example of a great pharma paid search (SEM)&nbsp;landing page? Please share in the comments section below!</span></strong></p>
<p class="MsoListParagraph"><strong><span style="text-decoration:underline;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Further Reading and Resources:</span></span></strong></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Search and Social Media</span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"> &ndash; <a href="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/07/pharmaceutical-search-engine-marketing-8-keys-to-effectively-planning-and-executing-a-pharma-sem-campaign-to-help-launch-a-new-drug.html">Pharma Search Marketing</a> &ndash; 8 Keys to Effectively Planning and Executing a Pharma SEM Campaign to Launch a New Drug </span><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/07/pharmaceutical-search-engine-marketing-8-keys-to-effectively-planning-and-executing-a-pharma-sem-campaign-to-help-launch-a-new-drug.html">http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/07/pharmaceutical-search-engine-marketing-8-keys-to-effectively-planning-and-executing-a-pharma-sem-campaign-to-help-launch-a-new-drug.html</a> </span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Dose of Digital</span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"> &ndash; How Pharma Should Use Paid Search </span><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href="http://www.doseofdigital.com/2009/03/pharma-use-google-paid-search-engine-marketing/">http://www.doseofdigital.com/2009/03/pharma-use-google-paid-search-engine-marketing/</a></span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Marketing Experiments</span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"> &ndash; Post on Improving Website Conversion </span><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href="http://www.marketingexperiments.com/improving-website-conversion/sticky-landing-pages.html">http://www.marketingexperiments.com/improving-website-conversion/sticky-landing-pages.html</a></span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">Always Be Testing: The Complete Guide to Google Website Optimizer </span></strong><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href="http://www.amazon.com/Always-Be-Testing-Complete-Optimizer/dp/0470290633">http://www.amazon.com/Always-Be-Testing-Complete-Optimizer/dp/0470290633</a> </span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href="http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2009/02/stop-bouncing-tips-for-website-success.html"><strong>Official Google Blog:</strong> Stop bouncing: tips for website success</a></span></span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"></span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><a href="http://pharmasearchsocialmobile.posterous.com/2008-and-2009-pharma-benchmark-data-bounce-ra">In Part Two of this Series</a> , we analyzed five top pharmaceutical brand websites&rsquo; bounce rates and begin to understand the impact of the FDA Letters on Sponsored Links on bounce rate.</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;">You can follow me on Twitter at: <a href="http://www.twitter.com/iano1000">http://www.twitter.com/iano1000</a>&nbsp;</span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><span style="font-family:Wingdings;"><span style="font-size:12pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><strong>Please share your best pharma paid search (SEM)&nbsp;landing page examples, and I&rsquo;ll be sure to include in an upcoming post!</strong></span></span></span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText"><span style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><span style="font-family:Wingdings;"><span style="font-size:12pt;font-family:Arial,sans-serif;"><strong>Ian Orekondy</strong></span></span></span></p>
<p class="MsoPlainText">&nbsp;</p>
</div>
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<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/pharma-bounce-rate-series-part-two-how-the-fda-letters-on-paid-search-impacted-pharma-site-bounce-rates.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharma Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part Two: How the FDA Letters on Paid Search Impacted Pharma Site Bounce Rates'>Pharma Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part Two: How the FDA Letters on Paid Search Impacted Pharma Site Bounce Rates</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/pharma-sem-bounce-rate-series-part-one-why-is-bounce-rate-important-to-pharma-sem-ppc-search-campaigns.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?'>Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?</a></li>
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		<item>
		<title>Pharma Bounce Rate Series – Part Two: How the FDA Letters on Paid Search Impacted Pharma Site Bounce Rates</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/QppjcgpWwYU/pharma-bounce-rate-series-part-two-how-the-fda-letters-on-paid-search-impacted-pharma-site-bounce-rates.html</link>
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		<pubDate>Fri, 01 Jan 2010 07:30:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pharma Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[benchmarks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[bounce rate]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[FDA]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[KPI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[pharma sem]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SEM]]></category>

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		<description><![CDATA[Pharma Bounce Rates: Did the FDA Warning Letters on Paid Search Have An Impact?


Related posts:Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?



Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/pharma-sem-bounce-rate-series-part-one-why-is-bounce-rate-important-to-pharma-sem-ppc-search-campaigns.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?'>Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p><a href="http://www.slideshare.net/iano1000/pharma-bounce-rates-did-the-fda-warning-letters-on-paid-search-have-an-impact" title="Pharma Bounce Rates: Did the FDA Warning Letters on Paid Search Have An Impact?" style="font:14px Helvetica,Arial,Sans-serif;display:block;text-decoration:underline;margin:12px 0 3px;">Pharma Bounce Rates: Did the FDA Warning Letters on Paid Search Have An Impact?</a></p>
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<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/pharma-sem-bounce-rate-series-part-one-why-is-bounce-rate-important-to-pharma-sem-ppc-search-campaigns.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?'>Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?</a></li>
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		<item>
		<title>Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series – Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/uMZc3qOokMw/pharma-sem-bounce-rate-series-part-one-why-is-bounce-rate-important-to-pharma-sem-ppc-search-campaigns.html</link>
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		<pubDate>Fri, 01 Jan 2010 07:18:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pharma Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[bounce rate]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[pharma sem]]></category>

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		<description><![CDATA[Higher bounce rates mean less-educated patients and inefficient advertising spend.

Without the ability to directly track sales of pharmaceuticals on pharma online brand websites, engagement metrics like bounce rate become increasingly important as a measure of success for pharma SEM campaigns. (Bounce rate is the percentage of single-page visits or visits in which the person left [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/pharma-bounce-rate-series-part-two-how-the-fda-letters-on-paid-search-impacted-pharma-site-bounce-rates.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharma Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part Two: How the FDA Letters on Paid Search Impacted Pharma Site Bounce Rates'>Pharma Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part Two: How the FDA Letters on Paid Search Impacted Pharma Site Bounce Rates</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/3-ways-to-improve-pharma-search-engine-marketing-sem-bounce-rates-part-3.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: 3 Ways to Improve Pharma Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Bounce Rates (Part 3)'>3 Ways to Improve Pharma Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Bounce Rates (Part 3)</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p><strong>Higher bounce rates mean less-educated patients and inefficient advertising spend.</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>Without the ability to directly track sales of pharmaceuticals on pharma online brand websites, engagement metrics like bounce rate become increasingly important as a measure of success for pharma SEM campaigns. (Bounce rate is the percentage of single-page visits or visits in which the person left your site from the landing page. From Google Analytics.)</li>
<li>The hypothesis is that in order for a pharma website to educate patients and empower them to have an effective conversation with their physician, a visitor to the site should view more than just the landing page; conducting a search on Google, clicking a pharma advertiser&#8217;s text ad and landing on the site is not enough; a visitor should click deeper into the site and consume more content in order for that click to be considered a quality click.</li>
<li>When the objective is education, a bounce is a wasted click (i.e. wasted ad spend).</li>
</ul>
<p><strong>Bounce rate analysis provides actionable insights.</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>Identifying keywords, text ads and landing pages with high bounce rates allows you to focus on areas that need improvement.&nbsp;</li>
</ul>
<p><strong>What is a &#8220;good&#8221; bounce rate?</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>It&#8217;s important to put your pharma SEM (PPC) campaign bounce rate&nbsp;into context, and there are several ways to do this, which we will explore in Part 2 of this series. </li>
</ul>
<p>In Part Two of this series, we&#8217;ll explore how the FDA Letters on Sponsored Links impacted pharma brand site bounce rates: <a href="http://www.slideshare.net/iano1000/pharma-bounce-rates-did-the-fda-warning-letters-on-paid-search-have-an-impact" target="_blank">Pharma Bounce Rates &#8211; Part Two:&nbsp;&nbsp;Pharma Bounce Rate Benchmarks and Impact of FDA Warning Letters</a></p>
<p>And in Part Three, we&#8217;ll explore 5 Ways to Reduce Pharma Search Engine Marketing (SEM)&nbsp;PPC Bounce Rates.</p>
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		<item>
		<title>Digg Labs Unveils Digg 365</title>
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		<pubDate>Mon, 07 Dec 2009 03:46:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Digg]]></category>

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		<description><![CDATA[Digg 365 allows you to see the Top Stories (by Diggs) for each day, month and year for the past 5 years. &#160;Could Digg 365 help Digg Ads advertisers create better Social PPC ads by helping them understand what types of stories/headlines are most successful during different times of the year? &#160;To try it out, [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/10/digg-ads-social-ppc-opportunities-evolving.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Digg Ads &#8211; Social PPC Opportunities Evolving'>Digg Ads &#8211; Social PPC Opportunities Evolving</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating'>Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p>Digg 365 allows you to see the Top Stories (by Diggs) for each day, month and year for the past 5 years. &nbsp;Could Digg 365 help Digg Ads advertisers create better Social PPC ads by helping them understand what types of stories/headlines are most successful during different times of the year? &nbsp;To try it out, click the image below:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><a href="http://labs.digg.com/365/"><span style="color:windowtext;text-decoration:none;"><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/image0021.jpg?w=300" width="438"><br />
</span></a></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>You can find me Twitter at <a href="http://www.twitter.com/iano1000"> </a><a href="http://www.twitter.com/iano1000">http://www.twitter.com/iano1000</a></a></p>
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		<item>
		<title>Stumble Upon Advertising (Cost Per Visitor) Enables Targeting by Category, Geo and Demo</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/y2Fb3a_AA28/stumble-upon-advertising-cost-per-visitor-enables-targeting-by-category-geo-and-demo.html</link>
		<comments>http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/stumble-upon-advertising-cost-per-visitor-enables-targeting-by-category-geo-and-demo.html#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 30 Nov 2009 05:48:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Stumble Upon]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://testbed1.wordpress.com/2009/11/30/stumble-upon-advertising-cost-per-visitor-enables-targeting-by-category-geo-and-demo</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Stumble Upon Advertising: $.05 Cost Per Visitor, Lower Conversion Rates Than Paid Search


(Click the logo above to see Stumble Upon&#8217;s demo video)

Stumble Upon Advertising is interesting in that it provides real-time feedback (both qualitative and quantative) on your ads.

Quantitative: Visitors, % Liked, % Disliked
Qualitative: actual user comments on your page



To start a campaign: http://www.stumbleupon.com/ads/

Advertiser Guidelines [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating'>Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2007/03/mojopages-com-demo.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: MojoPages.com Demo'>MojoPages.com Demo</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p><strong>Stumble Upon Advertising: $.05 Cost Per Visitor, </strong><a href="http://www.seopher.com/articles/advertising_your_site_part_two"><strong>Lower Conversion Rates Than Paid Search</strong></a></p>
<div><a href="http://www.stumbleupon.com/stumbleads_demo.php" target="_blank"><img src="http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:xVk81-m1N74mhM:http://under30ceo.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/stumbleupon-logo.jpg" height="109" alt="" width="107" style="border-right:1px solid;border-top:1px solid;vertical-align:bottom;border-left:1px solid;border-bottom:1px solid;" /></a></div>
<p />
<div>(Click the logo above to see Stumble Upon&#8217;s demo video)</div>
<p />
<div>Stumble Upon Advertising is interesting in that it provides real-time feedback (both qualitative and quantative) on your ads.</div>
<p />
<div>Quantitative: Visitors, % Liked, % Disliked</div>
<div>Qualitative: actual user comments on your page</div>
<div><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/stumbleupon_tracking.jpg'><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/stumbleupon_tracking.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a>
</div>
<p />
<div>To start a campaign: <a href="http://www.stumbleupon.com/ads/" target="_blank">http://www.stumbleupon.com/ads/</a></div>
<p />
<div>Advertiser Guidelines seem to prohibit lead generation campaigns: <a href="http://www.stumbleupon.com/content_guidelines.html">http://www.stumbleupon.com/content_guidelines.html</a></div>
<p />
<div>Have you used Stumble Upon advertising?&nbsp; Share your thoughts.</div>
<p />
<div><a href="http://www.dmnews.com/search-and-social-media-a-power-pair/article/127798/">Ian Orekondy</a></div>
<p />
<div>Follow me on Twitter at <a href="http://www.twitter.com/iano1000">http://www.twitter.com/iano1000</a></div>
<a class="a2a_dd addtoany_share_save" href="http://www.addtoany.com/share_save?linkurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsearchandsocialmedia.com%2F2009%2F11%2Fstumble-upon-advertising-cost-per-visitor-enables-targeting-by-category-geo-and-demo.html&amp;linkname=Stumble%20Upon%20Advertising%20%28Cost%20Per%20Visitor%29%20Enables%20Targeting%20by%20Category%2C%20Geo%20and%20Demo"><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/plugins/add-to-any/share_save_256_24.png" width="256" height="24" alt="Share/Bookmark"/></a>

<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating'>Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2007/03/mojopages-com-demo.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: MojoPages.com Demo'>MojoPages.com Demo</a></li>
</ol></p><img src="http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~4/y2Fb3a_AA28" height="1" width="1"/>]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
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		<item>
		<title>Reach, Relevance, Relationships: Social Advertising Best Practices</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/fhC3zd_U9Gw/reach-relevance-relationships-social-advertising-best-practices.html</link>
		<comments>http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/reach-relevance-relationships-social-advertising-best-practices.html#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 29 Nov 2009 18:42:05 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[IAB]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social PPC]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://testbed1.wordpress.com/2009/11/29/reach-relevance-relationships-social-advertising-best-practices</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The Interactive Advertising Bureau&#8217;s Best Practices guide with examples from social advertising platforms like Facebook. It&#8217;s from May 2009, so it&#8217;s already somewhat dated, but it contains some valuable perspectives on social advertising&#8217;s reach and relevance.


You can download the PDF here: http://www.iab.net/media/file/Social-Advertising-Best-Practices-0509.pdf
 Follow me on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/iano1000


Related posts:Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/10/slideshare-introduces-social-ppc-pay-per-click-and-pay-per-lead-advertising-options.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) and Pay Per Lead Advertising Options'>Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) and Pay Per Lead Advertising Options</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/07/5-ways-to-reach-social-media-audiences-via-paid-search-semppc-and-sponsorship-tactics.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: 5 Ways to Reach Social Media Audiences via Paid Search SEM/PPC and Sponsorship Tactics'>5 Ways to Reach Social Media Audiences via Paid Search SEM/PPC and Sponsorship Tactics</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p>The Interactive Advertising Bureau&#8217;s Best Practices guide with examples from social advertising platforms like Facebook. It&#8217;s from May 2009, so it&#8217;s already somewhat dated, but it contains some valuable perspectives on social advertising&#8217;s reach and relevance.
<p><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/photo2.jpg'><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/photo2.jpg?w=300" width="500"></a>
</p>
<p>You can download the PDF here: <br /><a href="http://www.iab.net/media/file/Social-Advertising-Best-Practices-0509.pdf">http://www.iab.net/media/file/Social-Advertising-Best-Practices-0509.pdf</a>
<p /> Follow me on Twitter at <a href="http://www.twitter.com/iano1000">http://www.twitter.com/iano1000</a></p>
<a class="a2a_dd addtoany_share_save" href="http://www.addtoany.com/share_save?linkurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsearchandsocialmedia.com%2F2009%2F11%2Freach-relevance-relationships-social-advertising-best-practices.html&amp;linkname=Reach%2C%20Relevance%2C%20Relationships%3A%20Social%20Advertising%20Best%20Practices"><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/plugins/add-to-any/share_save_256_24.png" width="256" height="24" alt="Share/Bookmark"/></a>

<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/10/slideshare-introduces-social-ppc-pay-per-click-and-pay-per-lead-advertising-options.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) and Pay Per Lead Advertising Options'>Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) and Pay Per Lead Advertising Options</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/07/5-ways-to-reach-social-media-audiences-via-paid-search-semppc-and-sponsorship-tactics.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: 5 Ways to Reach Social Media Audiences via Paid Search SEM/PPC and Sponsorship Tactics'>5 Ways to Reach Social Media Audiences via Paid Search SEM/PPC and Sponsorship Tactics</a></li>
</ol></p><img src="http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~4/fhC3zd_U9Gw" height="1" width="1"/>]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Twitter Advertising: Ad.ly vs. TwitterHawk vs. Magpie</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/2ODYj1_LyLU/twitter-advertising-ad-ly-vs-twitterhawk-vs-magpie.html</link>
		<comments>http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-ad-ly-vs-twitterhawk-vs-magpie.html#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 29 Nov 2009 08:57:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ad.ly]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Magpie]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Pay Per Tweet]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Twitter]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[TwitterHawk]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ViperChill]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://testbed1.wordpress.com/2009/11/29/twitter-advertising-ad-ly-vs-twitterhawk-vs-magpie</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[In July, I wrote about 5 Ways to Reach Social Media Audiences with Pay Per Click, Pay Per Tweet and Sponsorship Opportunities over at SearchandSocialMedia.com, and this space is continuing to heat up.

&#60;a href=&#8217;http://siteanalytics.compete.com/ad.ly+be-a-magpie.com+twitterhawk.com/?metric=uv&#8216;&#62;&#60;img src=&#8217;
&#8216; /&#62;&#60;/a&#62;

Just a month since launching, Ad.ly has become the most popular Twitter advertising platform, beating out both TwitterHawk and Magpie [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating'>Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/reach-relevance-relationships-social-advertising-best-practices.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Reach, Relevance, Relationships: Social Advertising Best Practices'>Reach, Relevance, Relationships: Social Advertising Best Practices</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><div>In July, I wrote about 5 Ways to Reach Social Media Audiences with Pay Per Click, <a href="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/07/5-ways-to-reach-social-media-audiences-via-paid-search-semppc-and-sponsorship-tactics.html">Pay Per Tweet</a> and Sponsorship Opportunities over at <a href="http://SearchandSocialMedia.com">SearchandSocialMedia.com</a>, and this space is continuing to heat up.</div>
<p />
<div>&lt;a href=&#8217;<a href="http://siteanalytics.compete.com/ad.ly+be-a-magpie.com+twitterhawk.com/?metric=uv"></a><a href="http://siteanalytics.compete.com/ad.ly+be-a-magpie.com+twitterhawk.com/?metric=uv">http://siteanalytics.compete.com/ad.ly+be-a-magpie.com+twitterhawk.com/?metric=uv</a>&#8216;&gt;&lt;img src=&#8217;<a href="http://grapher.compete.com/ad.ly+be-a-magpie.com+twitterhawk.com_uv.png"></a><a href='http://posterous.com/getfile/files.posterous.com/socialppc/IEcbpGuhjfzwbBcamCzJrykwblJtGtnyywdJpDuebAqFyDtzaFzuGmAnjqpA/media_httpgraphercompetecomadlybeamagpiecomtwitterhawkcomuvpng_bJDJgzkHFdhnDxz.png.scaled1000.png'><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/media_httpgraphercompetecomadlybeamagpiecomtwitterhawkcomuvpng_bjdjgzkhfdhndxz-scaled500.png?w=300" width="500"></a><br />
&#8216; /&gt;&lt;/a&gt;</div>
<p />
<div>Just a month since launching, <a href="http://ad.ly/refer/665180178">Ad.ly</a> has become the most popular Twitter advertising platform, beating out both <a href="http://www.twitterhawk.com/?ref=ino1000">TwitterHawk</a> and <a href="http://be-a-magpie.com/blog/">Magpie</a> based on unique monthly visitors in October.</div>
<p />
<div>Last week, Twitter began talking about their upcoming <a href="http://socialppc.posterous.com/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-a">Twitter advertising platform</a>, which will add credibility to the Social PPC space overall; but <a href="http://ad.ly/refer/665180178">Ad.ly</a> has done a lot to further the cause&nbsp;already&nbsp;by signing up a&nbsp;wide range&nbsp;of celebrity Twitterers, such as LeVar Burton (director), Greg Grunberg (TV actor), Jeremiah Owyang (digital strategist), Robert Scoble (blogger) ViperID (SEO).</div>
<p />
<div>Of the major Twitter advertising platforms, Ad.ly now seems to have the most credibility and has signed up adverisers such as NBC and HBO; however&nbsp;<span><a href="http://www.twitterhawk.com/?ref=ino1000">TwitterHawk</a>&nbsp;still seems to be the best option for a broader range of businesses due to superior targeting capabilities (e.g. keyword- and geotargeting) and low cost per click (max $.05 with s site average of $.02).</span></div>
<p />
<div><span>@iano1000</span></div>
<p />
<div><span>(Disclosure: if you sign up with Ad.ly or TwitterHawk using the links above, I will get referral credit.)</span></div>
<a class="a2a_dd addtoany_share_save" href="http://www.addtoany.com/share_save?linkurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsearchandsocialmedia.com%2F2009%2F11%2Ftwitter-advertising-ad-ly-vs-twitterhawk-vs-magpie.html&amp;linkname=Twitter%20Advertising%3A%20Ad.ly%20vs.%20TwitterHawk%20vs.%20Magpie"><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/plugins/add-to-any/share_save_256_24.png" width="256" height="24" alt="Share/Bookmark"/></a>

<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating'>Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/reach-relevance-relationships-social-advertising-best-practices.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Reach, Relevance, Relationships: Social Advertising Best Practices'>Reach, Relevance, Relationships: Social Advertising Best Practices</a></li>
</ol></p><img src="http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~4/2ODYj1_LyLU" height="1" width="1"/>]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Local, Social, Mobile: FourSquare Advertising Is Here</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/3vfib-V2k9s/local-social-mobile-foursquare-advertising-is-here.html</link>
		<comments>http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/local-social-mobile-foursquare-advertising-is-here.html#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 26 Nov 2009 04:12:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Foursquare]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Local]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social PPC]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://testbed1.wordpress.com/2009/11/26/local-social-mobile-foursquare-advertising-is-here</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[
Screenshot of Special Mayor Offer (from my former colleague Chris O&#8217;Leary&#8217;s account).




Other opportunities are being developed and tested; I am still researching pricing models.

FourSquare integrates with Twitter, and you can sign up here:
http://foursquare.com/businesses/

Mashable has a good article on FourSquare ads here:&#160;http://bit.ly/5wimrz

And this NY Times article on FourSquare is also a good read:&#160;http://bit.ly/4uQqcP

Are you using FourSquare [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating'>Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/10/slideshare-introduces-social-ppc-pay-per-click-and-pay-per-lead-advertising-options.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) and Pay Per Lead Advertising Options'>Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) and Pay Per Lead Advertising Options</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><div>
<div style="height:60px;display:table-cell;vertical-align:middle;margin:0;padding:0;">Screenshot of Special Mayor Offer (from my former colleague Chris O&#8217;Leary&#8217;s account).
<p /><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/image2.png?w=200" width="320">
</div>
</div>
<p />
<div>Other opportunities are being developed and tested; I am still researching pricing models.</div>
<p />
<div>FourSquare integrates with Twitter, and y<span>ou can sign up here:</span></div>
<div><a href="http://foursquare.com/businesses/">http://foursquare.com/businesses/</a></div>
<p />
<div>Mashable has a good article on FourSquare ads here:&nbsp;<a href="http://bit.ly/5wimrz"></a><a href="http://bit.ly/5wimrz">http://bit.ly/5wimrz</a></div>
<p />
<div>And this NY Times article on FourSquare is also a good read:&nbsp;<a href="http://bit.ly/4uQqcP"></a><a href="http://bit.ly/4uQqcP">http://bit.ly/4uQqcP</a></div>
<p />
<div>Are you using FourSquare ads to promote your business?</div>
<p />
<div>Find me on FourSquare: Ian Orekondy&nbsp;</div>
<p />
<div>@iano1000 on Twitter</div>
<p />
<div>And check out <a href="http://www.searchandsocialmedia.com">http://www.searchandsocialmedia.com</a> for more insights, analysis and case studies.</div>
<a class="a2a_dd addtoany_share_save" href="http://www.addtoany.com/share_save?linkurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsearchandsocialmedia.com%2F2009%2F11%2Flocal-social-mobile-foursquare-advertising-is-here.html&amp;linkname=Local%2C%20Social%2C%20Mobile%3A%20FourSquare%20Advertising%20Is%20Here"><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/plugins/add-to-any/share_save_256_24.png" width="256" height="24" alt="Share/Bookmark"/></a>

<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating'>Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That&#039;s Fascinating</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/10/slideshare-introduces-social-ppc-pay-per-click-and-pay-per-lead-advertising-options.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) and Pay Per Lead Advertising Options'>Slideshare Introduces Social PPC (Pay Per Click) and Pay Per Lead Advertising Options</a></li>
</ol></p><img src="http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~4/3vfib-V2k9s" height="1" width="1"/>]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Twitter Advertising: Twitter COO Talks About Advertising That's Fascinating</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/7tArVR8-CmY/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html</link>
		<comments>http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating.html#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 26 Nov 2009 03:22:54 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[@iano1000]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social PPC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Twitter]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://testbed1.wordpress.com/2009/11/26/twitter-advertising-twitter-coo-talks-about-advertising-thats-fascinating</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Twitter Advertising To Roll Out Next Year


Twitter COO Dick Costolo spoke at RealTime Crunchup earlier this week about Twitter&#8217;s deals with Google and Bing as well as how Twitter&#8217;s advertising model is to be rolled out next year.
 This is a BIG story for search marketing and social media marketing professionals.
 Robert Scoble responded to [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/twitter-advertising-ad-ly-vs-twitterhawk-vs-magpie.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Twitter Advertising: Ad.ly vs. TwitterHawk vs. Magpie'>Twitter Advertising: Ad.ly vs. TwitterHawk vs. Magpie</a></li>
<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2008/09/pharmaceutical-marketers-can-leverage-twitter-search-and-social-media-today.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharmaceutical Marketers Can Leverage Twitter Search and Social Media Today'>Pharmaceutical Marketers Can Leverage Twitter Search and Social Media Today</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p>Twitter Advertising To Roll Out Next Year
<p><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/image.png?w=300" width="308">
</p>
<p>Twitter COO Dick Costolo spoke at RealTime Crunchup earlier this week about Twitter&#8217;s deals with Google and Bing as well as how Twitter&#8217;s advertising model is to be rolled out next year.
<p /> This is a BIG story for search marketing and social media marketing professionals.
<p /> Robert Scoble responded to Costolo&#8217;s conversation and mused about the &#8220;SuperTweet&#8221; here; it&#8217;s a great read for those of is interested in Social PPC advertising opportunities: <br /><a href="http://bit.ly/8RVQTb">http://bit.ly/8RVQTb</a>
<p /> And here&#8217;s a link to the TechCrunch article with video of the interview with Costolo:
<p /> <a href="http://bit.ly/58dz1F">http://bit.ly/58dz1F</a>
<p /> For more Search and Social Media analysis and case studies, check out <a href="http://www.searchandsocialmedia.com">http://www.searchandsocialmedia.com</a>
<p /> @iano1000
<p /> Photo credit: TechCrunch</p>
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		<title>Ad Spending On Prescription Medications</title>
		<link>http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/searchandsocialmedia/fxnu/~3/UyRY9cA7R8c/ad-spending-on-prescription-medications.html</link>
		<comments>http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2009/11/ad-spending-on-prescription-medications.html#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 25 Nov 2009 01:45:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Ian Orekondy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Pharma Search Engine Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[pharma sem]]></category>

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		<description><![CDATA[Flomax, Cialis and Viagra are certainly leading the way in terms of TV and print spending.
 What would the world look like if the bars were positioned in reverse, and Outdoor ad spend on prescription medications was closer to $3 billion than $3 million?
 How different might the web look if just the print dollars [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2010/01/pharma-sem-bounce-rate-series-part-one-why-is-bounce-rate-important-to-pharma-sem-ppc-search-campaigns.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?'>Pharma SEM Bounce Rate Series &#8211; Part One: Why Is Bounce Rate Important to Pharma SEM (PPC) Search Campaigns?</a></li>
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</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p></p><p>Flomax, Cialis and Viagra are certainly leading the way in terms of TV and print spending.
<p /> What would the world look like if the bars were positioned in reverse, and Outdoor ad spend on prescription medications was closer to $3 billion than $3 million?
<p /> How different might the web look if just the print dollars shifted online?
<p /> Where would those dollars be spent online? What has to happen/shift in order for the ad spend to follow?
<p><img src="http://searchandsocialmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/photo.jpg?w=200" width="320"></p>
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<li><a href='http://searchandsocialmedia.com/2005/02/google-seminar-highlights.html' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Google Seminar Highlights'>Google Seminar Highlights</a></li>
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